Library Guides: M E 4150: Mechanical Systems Design: Get started

Welcome to your library guide for M E 4150: Mechanical Systems Design. This guide is intended to assist you in your research specifically for ME 4150, but it will also connect you with library resources that will be applicable in other ME courses. If you need assistance beyond what is provided in this guide, please contact your librarian.

The video below provides a brief tour of this course guide (while it was produced by a prior librarian and when course numbers were only 3 digits, the information is still valid).

Additionally, below is a link to INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook 5th Edition on the O'Reilly for Higher Education platform. You'll have to go through the usual campus login process initially.

O'Reilly Media does have apps on the Apple and Google Play stores that can make saving/accessing their ebooks more convenient if that is something of interest.

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook
ISBN: 9781119814313
Publication Date: 2023-06-08
SYSTEMS ENGINEERING HANDBOOK A comprehensive reference on the discipline and practice of systems engineering Systems engineering practitioners provide a wide range of vital functions, conceiving, developing, and supporting complex engineered systems with many interacting elements. The International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) Systems Engineering Handbook describes the state-of-the-good-practice of systems engineering. The result is a comprehensive guide to systems engineering activities across any number of possible projects. From automotive to defense to healthcare to infrastructure, systems engineering practitioners are at the heart of any project built on complex systems. INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook readers will find: Elaboration on the key systems life cycle processes described in ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288:2023; Chapters covering key systems engineering concepts, system life cycle processes and methods, tailoring and application considerations, systems engineering in practice, and more; and Appendices, including an N2 diagram of the systems engineering processes and a detailed topical index. The INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook is a vital reference for systems engineering practitioners and engineers in other disciplines looking to perform or understand the discipline of systems engineering.

Questions?

If you have questions, you can:

Email your librarian (see information in the right column)
Ask Us through chat, email or check out our Frequently Asked Questions.
Stop by the Main Desk on the first floor of Parks Library. Desk hours.

The ISU Library maintains a number of other research guides that may be helpful:

Entrepreneurship and Innovation Research Guide
Created and maintained by ISU's business librarian, this guide includes tips for doing research on entrepreneurship and links to resources for entrepreneurs in central Iowa.
Patents: A How-To-Find Guide
Detailed introductory information for researching patents in the U.S. and other countries, with links to free patent searching tools.
Standards & Specifications: A How-To Guide
Extensive information on how to find standards, codes, and specifications from a variety of organizations on the web and at Parks Library.
How to Conduct a Literature Review: A Guide for Graduate Students
Although this guide is primarily intended for graduate students working on a thesis or dissertation, it contains helpful information on how to conduct a literature review, use citation chaining to quickly find additional references, and other useful techniques.

Jesse Garrison

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

294-5077

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Computer Science, Geology, Mechanical Engineering, Meteorology, Physics & Astronomy