Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Biology Resources  Tags: biology science  

Introduction to library resources and other information sources for biology students.
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Journals

These are just a few of the journals related to the biological sciences available online from the ISU Library:

Check the e-journals list for additional journals. If you don't find what you need, check the library catalog to see what journals are available in print. When searching the library catalog for journals, be sure to search by "Serial Title (journals, etc)."

 
 

Article Databases

While you can go to the individual journals to find information about your topic, it's much more efficient to search an article database for your topic.  These are the major databases useful for searching topics in the biological sciences.

The ISU Library subscribes to many different databases that are useful to students and faculty interested in biology. Deciding which database to use depends on what you are trying to accomplish. For example, does the assignment require you to find articles from the popular press or scholarly journals?

General Database - Start basic and begin your search here!

  • Academic Search Elite
    This is one of the EBSCOHost databases; if you attended high school in Iowa, you've probably used some of the EBSCOHost resources.  It indexes popular and scholarly publications.

Subject Databases

The following databases do not contain articles from popular magazines or newspapers. The citations in these databases are from a variety of sources including scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and meeting reports.

Other Resources

  • Birds of North America Online
    Extensive information about birds. The articles include comprehensive information about bird behavior, migration, habitat as well as other topics. The articles are enhanced with photographs and sound clips.

  • CQ Researcher
    This is a good research to find if you need to find sources that describe the "pros" and "cons" of current issues. Click on "Browse by Topic" and choose "Science and Technology."

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Dinkelman, Assistant Professor
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait