General Links and Finding Aids - 1Links Pages - General Content

General Resource Links

Identify the main concepts in the topic and make a list of search terms.
Gather background information about your topic.
Use Quick Search to locate books about the topic.
Use an article database to locate citations to journal articles about the topic.

Use a general database to locate articles about your research topic.

Key Features:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (WoS) is a collection of databases that cover all topics. This link will take you to the page that searches all of these databases. To access more specific search tools you will need to search one database at a time using the dropdown menu.
Web of Science tutorial

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off-campus users must use Scholar settings to ensure smooth linkages to ISU Library articles in Google Scholar search results.

Note that terminology for ISU Library syncing with Google Scholar search results has changed from "GetIt@ISU" to "ViewIt@ISU".

Use the web to locate a reputable web site.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The results retrieved from Google Scholar are from "scholarly" resources---citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference reports.