This is a good starting place for term papers - to get a basic overview of almost any topic. It also includes short videos and high-resolution art images across all subject areas. Results link out to content in other databases provided by the ISU Library.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.
Useful for finding pro/con arguments and facts on many of today's controversial topics. For each topic, the resource provides featured viewpoints, statistical information, pertinent websites, videos and images, and further references.
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Homelessness is one of the major social problems and personal and family tragedies of the contemporary world. No community, city, or nation is immune and the lack of affordable housing and a decline in secure, well-paying jobs means that the problem will only get worse. The Encyclopedia of Homelessness is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about thus complex topic which impacts not only the homeless but all of society. The Encyclopedia whilst focussing on the current situation in the United States, ensures an international perspective by including a comparative sampling of homelessness from around the world. Articles cover: · Causes · Lifestyle Issues · Health Issues and Services · History · Legal Issues and Advocacy · Government Policies and Programs · Organizations · Research Approaches · Service Systems and Settings · Size and Characteristics of the Homeless Population · Public Perceptions of Homelessness · World Issues and Perspectives Additional descriptive articles cover homelessness today in a sample of American cities and a sample of cities and nations of the world, allowing for quick and easy comparisons. The Encyclopedia contains entries on Australia, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, France, Guatemala, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Zimbabwe, Tokyo, Calcutta, London and others from around the world. The Encyclopedia of Homelessness meets the needs of a broad audience, offering a rich history and the data, views, and perspectives of experts from different disciplines and perspectives, including: · Sociologists; · Anthropologists; · Economists; · Historians; · Social Policy Analysts and Planners; · Program Administrators; · Physicians; · Social Workers; · Lawyers who provide advocacy and services; · Journalists; · Students of history, social studies, and the social sciences in high school through graduate school.
Since publication of the groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Housing in 1998, many issues have assumed special prominence within this field and, indeed, within the global economy. For instance, the global economic meltdown was spurred in large part by the worst subprime mortgage crisis we′ve seen in our history. On a more positive note, the sustainability movement and "green" development has picked up considerable steam and, given the priorities and initiatives of the current U.S. administration, this will only grow in importance, and increased attention has been given in recent years to the topic of indoor air quality. Within the past decade, as well, the Baby Boom Generation began its march into retirement and senior citizenship, which will have increasingly broad implications for retirement communities and housing, assisted living facilities, aging in place, livable communities, universal design, and the like. Finally, within the last twelve years an emerging generation of young scholars has been making significant contributions to the field. For all these reasons and more, we are pleased to present a significantly updated and expanded Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Housing.
The Handbook of Social Policy was originally conceptualized as a ′state of the field′ of social policy that examines past, current and future directions. Since its publication, it has been adopted in masters and doctoral programs as a text and thus should be revised to stay current. Since its First Edition, much has changed in US social policy, such as a new presidency and political party and the terrorist attacks of September 11th. Within the field of social work, there has been increased attention to issues of diversity and social justice. The Second Edition of this Handbook follows a similar format but with a few key changes. Changes to the Second Edition: " Up-to-date policies and references to include the latest information on Social Policy " A more streamlined format has been implemented to make the Handbook more consistent with the way most instructors teach their courses. " Contributors have added more case studies and examples. " More attention focused on diverse populations and international issues " Content will be added to reflect the areas that have received increased attention, such as Advocacy, Policy practice, Immigration issues, Discrimination, and more.
The American welfare state has long been a source of political contention and academic debate. This Oxford Handbook pulls together much of our current knowledge about the origins, development, functions, and challenges of American social policy. After the Introduction, the first substantivepart of the handbook offers an historical overview of U.S. social policy from the colonial era to the present. This is followed by a set of chapters on different theoretical perspectives available for understanding and explaining the development of U.S. social policy. The three following parts ofthe volume focus on concrete social programs for the elderly, the poor and near-poor, the disabled, and workers and families. Policy areas covered include health care, pensions, food assistance, housing, unemployment benefits, disability benefits, workers' compensation, family support, and programsfor soldiers and veterans. The final part of the book focuses on some of the consequences of the U.S. welfare state for poverty, inequality, and citizenship. Many of the chapters comprising this handbook emphasize the disjointed patterns of policy making inherent to U.S. policymaking and thepublic-private mix of social provision in which the government helps certain groups of citizens directly (e.g., social insurance) or indirectly (e.g., tax expenditures, regulations). The contributing authors are experts from political science, sociology, history, economics, and other socialsciences.
How has the U.S. dealt, throughout its long history, with one of the worlds oldest problems? Although poverty has always been part of the human experience, societal reactions and responses to it have been as varied as the condition has been static. Poverty in America has its own turbulent history of causes, effects, and remedies, from debtor's prison to the War on Poverty, from Social Darwinism to food stamps. This in-depth encyclopedia covers the entire history of American poverty from every angle--historical, social, cultural, political, spiritual, and literary. How has poverty been defined in America? What has been done to prevent it? How have minority groups been affected? How has the church reacted? And what, if anything, can be done to eliminate it? Poverty in America covers these issues in vivid detail, from the colonial period to the Industrial Revolution to the global economy of the 21st century. Impactful primary document excerpts from key periods throughout American history are also included, providing firsthand accounts from all sides of the issue. A chronology of events and an extensive bibliography round out this fascinating work.
" This book provides a comprehensive understanding of the opportunities for all of us working with vulnerable populations to develop thoughtful, workable programs. The topics presented are not limited to the severely mentally ill, but it is an encyclopedia of resources and creative options for service to veterans, the homeless, the elderly..."
Truly comprehensive in scope - and arranged in A-Z format for quick access - this eight-volume set is a one-source reference for anyone researching the historical and contemporary details of more than 170 major issues confronting American society. Entries cover the full range of hotly contested social issues - including economic, scientific, environmental, criminal, legal, security, health, and media topics. Each entry discusses the historical origins of the problem or debate; past means used to deal with the issue; the current controversy surrounding the issue from all perspectives; and the near-term and future implications for society. In addition, each entry includes a chronology, a bibliography, and a directory of Internet resources for further research as well as primary documents and statistical tables highlighting the debates.