It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Is Everyone Really Equal? Book Discussion Series
Ozlem Sensoy & Robin DiAngelo's Is Everyone Really Equal - Fall 2018 Library DEI Committee Book Discussion
By this time, you should be ready to move beyond resistance or rebuttals. Are you ready to take a stand? Becoming an ally is more than a label; it requires action on your part: stepping in to interrupt racism, oppression, unfair practices, insensitive comments, discrimination, and more. Below are some books to help you get started.
Becoming an Ally: Breaking the cycle of oppression in people by Anne BishopThis book, published in Europe and USA for the first time, looks specifically at addressing oppression in people. By narrowing the focus, Anne Bishop again raises a number of questions concerning where oppression comes from. Has it always been with us as a part of 'human nature'? What can we do to change it? What does individual healing have to do with the struggles for social justice? What does social justice have to do with individual healing? Why do members of oppressed groups fight each other, sometimes more viciously than their oppressor? Why do some who experience oppression develop a life-long commitment to fighting oppression, while others turn around and oppress others?
Call Number: HM1256 B57 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Beyond Tolerance by Nancy J. Evans; Vernon A. WallWritten especially for student affairs professionals, administrators, and faculty and student leaders, this ground-breaking book is a vital resource for those facing the complex and challenging issues that confront gays, lesbians, and bisexuals on campus. Eighteen scholars and practitioners examine the controversies surrounding identity development, homophobia, career planning, gay and lesbian student organizations and many other concerns unique to this population. It combines theory and practical applications for developing awareness and initiating collegiate programs. It also includes a comprehensive list of resources for learning more about the gay, lesbian and bisexual experience on campus. Co-published with ACPA. Originally published in 1991.
Call Number: LB2343 .B49 1991 ; 2nd copy in Parks LIB Special Collections
Publication Date: 1992-12-21
Deconstructing Privilege by Kim Case (Editor)Although scholarly examinations of privilege have increased in recent decades, an emphasis on privilege studies pedagogy remains lacking within institutions. This edited collection explores best practices for effective teaching and learning about various forms of systemic group privilege such as that based on race, gender, sexuality, religion, and class. Formatted in three easy-to-follow sections, Deconstructing Privilege charts the history of privilege studies and provides intersectional approaches to the topic. Drawing on a wealth of research and real-life accounts, this book gives educators both the theoretical foundations they need to address issues of privilege in the classroom and practical ways to forge new paths for critical dialogues in educational settings. Combining interdisciplinary contributions from leading experts in the field-- such as Tim Wise and Abby Ferber-- with pedagogical strategies and tips for teaching about privilege, Deconstructing Privilege is an essential book for any educator who wants to address what privilege really means in the classroom.
Call Number: LC4941 D43 2013 ; also available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2013-06-26
Everyday White People Confront Racial and Social Injustice: 15 Stories by Eddie Moore (Editor); Marguerite W. Pennick-Parks (Editor); Ali Michael (Editor); Paul C. Gorski (Foreword by)While we are all familiar with the lives of prominent Black civil rights leaders, few of us have a sense of what is entailed in developing a White anti-racist identity. Few of us can name the White activists who joined the struggle against discrimination, let alone understand the complexities, stresses and contradictions of doing this work while benefiting from the privileges they enjoyed as Whites. This book fills that gap by vividly presenting - in their own words - the personal stories, experiences and reflections of fifteen prominent White anti-racists. They recount the circumstances that led them to undertake this work, describe key moments and insights along their journeys, and frankly admit their continuing lapses and mistakes. They make it clear that confronting oppression (including their own prejudices) - whether about race, sexual orientation, ability or other differences - is a lifelong process of learning. The chapters in this book are full of inspirational and lesson-rich stories about the expanding awareness of White social justice advocates and activists who grappled with their White privilege and their early socialization and decided to work against structural injustice and personal prejudice. The authors are also self-critical, questioning their motivations and commitments, and acknowledging that - as Whites and possessors of other privileged identities - they continue to benefit from White privilege even as they work against it. This is an eye-opening book for anyone who wants to understand what it means to be White and the reality of what is involved in becoming a White anti-racist and social justice advocate; is interested in the paths taken by those who have gone before; and wants to engage reflectively and critically in this difficult and important work. Contributing Authors Warren J. Blumenfeld Abby L. Ferber Jane K. Fernandes Michelle Fine Diane J. Goodman Paul C. Gorski Heather W. Hackman Gary R. Howard Kevin Jennings Frances E. Kendall Paul Kivel James W. Loewen Peggy McIntosh Julie O'Mara Alan Rabinowitz Andrea Rabinowitz Christine E. Sleeter
How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. KendiPublisher: "Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism--and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. At it's core, racism is a powerful system that creates false hierarchies of human value; its warped logic extends beyond race, from the way we regard people of different ethnicities or skin colors to the way we treat people of different sexes, gender identities, and body types. Racism intersects with class and culture and geography and even changes the way we see and value ourselves. In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilites--that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their posionous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves. Kendi weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism. This is an essential work for anyone who wants to go beyond the awareness of racism to the next step: contributing to the formation of a just and equitable society. Praise for How to Be an Antiracist "Ibram X. Kendi's new book, How to Be an Antiracist, couldn't come at a better time. . . . Kendi has gifted us with a book that is not only an essential instruction manual but also a memoir of the author's own path from anti-black racism to anti-white racism and, finally, to antiracism. . . . How to Be an Antiracist gives us a clear and compelling way to approach, as Kendi puts it in his introduction, 'the basic struggle we're all in, the struggle to be fully human and to see that others are fully human.' "--NPR "Kendi dissects why in a society where so few people consider themselves to be racist the divisions and inequalities of racism remain so prevalent. How to Be an Antiracist punctures the myths of a post-racial America, examining what racism really is--and what we should do about it."--Time
Call Number: E184 A1 K344 2019 ; also available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
How to Be Less Stupid about Race by Crystal M. FlemingA unique and irreverent take on everything that's wrong with our "national conversation about race"--and what to do about it How to Be Less Stupid About Race is your essential guide to breaking through the half-truths and ridiculous misconceptions that have thoroughly corrupted the way race is represented in the classroom, pop culture, media, and politics. Centuries after our nation was founded on genocide, settler colonialism, and slavery, many Americans are kinda-sorta-maybe waking up to the reality that our racial politics are (still) garbage. But in the midst of this reckoning, widespread denial and misunderstandings about race persist, even as white supremacy and racial injustice are more visible than ever before. Combining no-holds-barred social critique, humorous personal anecdotes, and analysis of the latest interdisciplinary scholarship on systemic racism, sociologist Crystal M. Fleming provides a fresh, accessible, and irreverent take on everything that's wrong with our "national conversation about race." Drawing upon critical race theory, as well as her own experiences as a queer black millennial college professor and researcher, Fleming unveils how systemic racism exposes us all to racial ignorance--and provides a road map for transforming our knowledge into concrete social change. Searing, sobering, and urgently needed, How to Be Less Stupid About Race is a truth bomb for your racist relative, friend, or boss, and a call to action for everyone who wants to challenge white supremacy and intersectional oppression. If you like Issa Rae, Justin Simien, Angela Davis, and Morgan Jerkins, then this deeply relevant, bold, and incisive book is for you.
Call Number: E184.A1 F576 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Readings for Diversity and Social Justice by Maurianne Adamsm, Ximena Zuniga, et al. (Editors)For nearly 20 years, Readings for Diversity and Social Justice has been the trusted, leading anthology to cover a wide range of social oppressions from a social justice standpoint. With full sections dedicated to racism, religious oppression, classism, ableism, youth and elder oppression, as well as an integrative section dedicated to sexism, heterosexism, and transgender oppression, this bestselling text goes far beyond the range of traditional readers. New essay selections in each section of this fourth edition have been carefully chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students. The interactions among these topics are highlighted throughout to stress the interconnections among oppressions in everyday life. A Table of Intersections leads you to selections not in the section dedicated to an issue. Retaining the key features and organization that has made Readings for Diversity and Social Justice an indispensable text for teaching issues of social justice while simultaneously updating and expanding its coverage, this new edition features: Over 40 new selections considering current topics and events such as the Black Lives Matter movement, workplace immigration raids, gentrification, wealth inequality, the disability rights of prisoners and inmates, and the Keystone XL pipeline protests. An updated companion website with additional resources and short classroom-friendly videos that further complement the readings in each section. A holistic approach to sexism, gay, lesbian, trans and gender-queer oppression that challenges widely-held assumptions about the usual practice of separating analyses of sex and gender binaries. A more optimistic focus on the role of social justice at all levels of society, whether personal, institutional local, or global, and the intersections among them. Offering over 140 selections from some of the foremost scholars in a wide range of fields, Readings for Diversity and Social Justice is the indispensable volume for every student, teacher, and social justice advocate.
Call Number: E184 A1 R386 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
Recognizing Race and Ethnicity by Kathleen J. FitzgeraldDespite promising changes over the last century, race remains a central organizing principle in US society, a key arena of inequality, power, and privilege, and the subject of ongoing conflict and debate. In this second edition of Recognizing Race and Ethnicity, Kathleen J. Fitzgerald continues to examine the sociology of race and encourages students to think differently by challenging the notion that we are, or should even aspire to be, color-blind. Fitzgerald considers how race manifests in both significant and obscure ways by looking across all racial/ethnic groups within the socio-historical context of institutions and arenas, rather than discussing each group by group. Incorporating recent research and contemporary theoretical perspectives, she guides students to examine racial ideologies and identities as well as structural racism; at the same time, she covers topics like popular culture, sports, and interracial relationships. This latest edition includes an expanded look at global perspectives on racial inequality, including international migration and Islamophobia; updated examples of contemporary issues, including the Black Lives Mattermovement; more emphasis on intersectionality, specifically the ways sexuality and race intersect; and an extended discussion on why the sociology of race and the sociological imagination matter. Recognizing Race and Ethnicitycontinues to reflect the latest sociological research on race/ethnicity and provides unparalleled coverage of white privilege while remaining careful not to treat "white" as the norm against which all other groups are defined.
Call Number: E184 A1 F5755 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Speaking Out Against Racism in the University Space by Shiren HouseeThis book yields new and valuable insights into race and racism in higher education institutions. The powerful combination of accounts by minoritized students of their experiences and views, the frame of analysis based on Critical Race Theory, and the personal affinity and empathy of the author with her students, reveal the institutionalized structures, bigoted opinions and insidious discrimination that prevail. Yet universities should be challenging such racism, particularly when it is rising and spreading. The book shows how they can examine their staff and student recruitment, investigate their teaching methods and policies, and decolonize their curricula. How we listen to the student voice, and the spaces the university provides for minoritized students to speak freely, are the first steps to making institutions of higher education truly inclusive - the domain of social justice.
Call Number: LC212.4 H68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Undoing Privilege: Unearned advantage in a divided world by Bob PeaseFor every group that is oppressed, another group is privileged. In Undoing Privilege, Bob Pease argues that privilege, as the other side of oppression, has received insufficient attention in both critical theories and in the practices of social change. As a result, dominant groups have been allowed to reinforce their dominance.Undoing Privilege explores the main sites of privilege, from Western dominance, class elitism, and white and patriarchal privilege to the less-examined sites of heterosexual and able-bodied privilege. Pease points out that while the vast majority of people may be oppressed on one level, many are also privileged on another. He also demonstrates how members of privileged groups can engage critically with their own dominant position, and explores the potential and limitations of them becoming allies against oppression and their own unearned privilege.This is an essential book for all who are concerned about developing theories and practices for a socially just world.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
White Guys on Campus by Nolan L. CabreraOn April 22, 2015, Boston University professor Saida Grundy set off a Twitter storm with her provocative question: "Why is white America so reluctant to identify white college males as a problem population?" White Guys on Campus is a critical examination of race in higher education, centering Whiteness, in an effort to unveil the frequently unconscious habits of racism among White male undergraduates. Nolan L. Cabrera moves beyond the "few bad apples" frame of contemporary racism, and explores the structures, policies, ideologies, and experiences that allow racism to flourish. This book details many of the contours of contemporary, systemic racism, while engaging the possibility of White students to participate in anti-racism. Ultimately, White Guys on Campus calls upon institutions of higher education to be sites of social transformation instead of reinforcing systemic racism, while creating a platform to engage and challenge the public discourse of "post- racialism."