Skip to Main Content

Alumni Research Resources

Library resources uniquely available to ISU alumni.


Due to database access restrictions from publishers, we are only allowed to provide remote access to our databases for current ISU faculty, staff and students; however, there are still options for alumni researchers. We are happy to help you figure out the best ways to get access to the information you need.

Alternatives to remotely accessing our databases:

  1. Try using Open-Access databases - these are FREE to use by anyone, anywhere in the world. The Using Journal Article Databases section on the Find Articles Tab has links to several popular, free databases you might want to use. See also our guide to Free Scientific Research Resources.
     
  2. Due to COVID-19, some publishers have opened up access to a subset of their journal content. For example, JSTOR currently provides free access to 100 articles - register for this here. A list of other temporarily available free content is available.
     
  3. Check into getting a State Library of Iowa card (this will provide remote access to a number of research databases offered by the State). Anyone living in Iowa is eligible to get this card and you can apply for it online. For more information on this see their website at: https://www.statelibraryofiowa.gov/index.php/state-employees/i-want-1/get-state-library-card. If you live outside Iowa, check with your state library to see if they have a similar program. Links for each state library are available from this website: http://www.publiclibraries.com/state_library.htm.
     
  4. Check with your nearest public library to see what databases you might be able to access remotely through their subscriptions.

 

For more direct assistance, please contact us via phone, email or Live Chat - contact options are available from the Ask Us link below. We may not be able to grant remote access to our databases, but we can help you figure out the best ways to get access to the information you need.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head, Research Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569