Library Guides: GLOBE 4950: Global Resource Systems Study Abroad Course Preparation: Find Articles

News Databases

The following databases cover news sources rather than scholarly journals. If you are looking for introductory information to include in your research paper, consider finding a few newspaper articles to help you set the stage for your topic.

Access World News
Providing access to a comprehensive collection of over 2,000 newspapers and news sources from around the world.

Article Databases (Spanish language)

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
"HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world."

Article Databases - General

The ISU Library subscribes to many different article databases. The complete list is available on the Articles & Databases page on the Library website.

Use a general database to locate articles if your research topic covers multiple subject areas.

Key features:

Cover many different academic subjects, recommend starting with the databases listed below.
Link directly to the full-text of the article using the "Get it@ISU" button.
Find mix of resources: scholarly and popular

Academic Search Ultimate
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
UN iLibrary
Provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.

Open Knowledge Repository (World Bank publications)
Search for publications produced by the World Bank. "The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."

Article Databases - Subject-based

Use specialized databases if your research topic covers a specific subject area. There are many several specialized databases available from the Library.

Key features:

Link directly to full-text of the articles in most cases. Use ILL service to request the article if full-text is not available.
Cover articles published in scholarly research journals, some databases also index books, conference papers, and other types of literature.

ABI/INFORM Global
BUSINESS and FINANCE. ABI/Inform has been a premier source of business information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from 1000+ journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
AgEcon Search
AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS. A free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers.
AGRIS
An international and multilingual agricultural research database maintained by the United Nations. AGRIS contains references to books, articles, book chapters, data sets, and gray literature.
CAB Abstracts
AGRICULTURE. Comprehensive database that covers: agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; human health, food and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; plant sciences. Includes many international publications. Coverage: 1910-present
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.
Sociological Abstracts
SOCIOLOGY. Sociological Abstracts provides access to citations and abstracts in sociology and related fields from 1952 to the present.
Web of Science
INTERDISCIPLINARY. The fundamental question which can be answered quickly by Web of Science is where and by whom has a particular paper been cited. If you have 1-2 journal articles that are perfectly on your topic - you can look them up in Web of Science to see who has cited them. If another researcher has cited these papers, then these additional papers are probably also on the same (or a similar) topic. It's a great way to find related articles.

Using Google Scholar

Use the web to locate a reputable web site.

Google Scholar
The results retrieved from Google Scholar are from "scholarly" resources---citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference reports.

Your Librarian

Rano Marupova

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library

(515) 294-7129

Subjects: Education, Information Literacy, Teaching & Classroom Support

Helpful links

Ask a Librarian
Get help in person, online, or on the phone.
Articles & Databases
Databases for finding individual journal articles and conference papers by topic, author, and more. Most require ISU Library login.
Global Resource Systems at ISU
ISU Global Resource Systems homepage