Library Guides: ECON 385: Economic Development: Development Websites

World Bank

Websites maintained by the World Bank are located here.

2012 World Development Indicators
PDF version of 2012 WDI. Country data for doing the Lorenz curves is located in Table 2.9 Distribution of Income or Consumption, starting on page 74.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window

Doing Business Reports
World Bank Guide to the business environment (barriers to entry, bureaucracy, etc.) in 190 countries. On the main page, select a country to the profile. pdf reports are available for download.
Countries and Regions
Country and Regional information from the World Bank.
Poverty
World Bank Poverty resource page.
World Development Indicators Data Query
With this tool you can select a country or region, demographic or economic indicators, and year or years, and receive a report detailing the variables chosen.
World Development Report
Text of current and past World Development Reports.

General Guides to International Business

The following websites are portals to research in international business and economics. They contain links to individual country resources, regional information (e.g., Africa) and aggregated world sources (e.g., World Bank). These are provided in place of links to individual country sites.

GlobalEdge: International Business Resource Desk
A rich collection of thousands of international business resources selected based on content and usability. This section also includes our proprietary Market Potential Indicators and the Database of International Business Statistics.
International Affairs Resources
Another list of international business resources focusing primarily on U.S. and Canadian sources. Includes a list on international organizations.

International Monetary Fund

Links in this section include the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, and the United Nations

International Monetary Fund
The IMF provides policy advice and financing to its 188 member nations. It works with developing nations to stabilize economies and reduce poverty.
IMF World Economic Outlook
The World Economic Outlook presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries.

United Nations

Links in this section include a variety of United Nations sources.

Comisión Económica para América Latina (CEPAL)
Latin American country statistics in Spanish courtesy of the United Nations.

UNdata This link opens in a new window
United Nations data files covering population, business, health, and housing.

United National Development Program
UNDP partners with people at all levels of society to help build nations that can withstand crisis, and drive and sustain the kind of growth that improves the quality of life.
Human Development Report
Semi-annual report on human development. Website includes information about progress toward meeting millennium development goals.
United Nations Economic and Social Council
Umbrella group for all economic and social development programs coordinated by the UN. Includes programs related to the environment, human settlements, human rights, drugs and crime, and more.
United National Statistical Division
Umbrella group that coordinates statistics collection for the UN. Includes economic, demographic, gender and millennium development goal statistical collection.

Other Websites

This section contains websites that don't fit the other categories.

ELDIS
ELDIS, supported by the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, includes country profiles, resource guides, and 26,000 free documents.
Miniature Earth Project
The idea of reducing the world’s population to a community of only 100 people is very useful and important. It makes us easily understand the differences in the world.
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) negotiate directly with foreign governments to create trade agreements, resolve disputes and participate in global trade policy organizations. Includes links to trade agreements.
Penn World Tables
Macroeconomic data by country, 1950- 2017
Population Reference Bureau DataFinder
U.S. Census International Database
The International Data Base is provided by the U.S. Census Bureau's International Programs Center (IPC). It contains statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Includes population pyramids.
World Resources Institute
The World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank that goes beyond research to find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people’s lives.
Fact Based World View
Provides bubble charts on economics indicators by country.

Your Librarian

Jeffrey Kushkowski

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

Professor
Innovation and Entrepreneurship,
Business and Economics Librarian
150 Parks Library

515 294-2408

Subjects: Business, Economics, Faculty Resources, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Research & Publication, Teaching & Classroom Support