Library Guides: Animal Science Research Guide: Find Books

Search Tips

Quick Search records include a brief description and location information for books, journals, and other items owned by the Library. You will also find records for individual articles. We recommend you choose an article index to search for journal articles, rather than using Quick Search.

Search Tips

You may use Boolean operators AND, OR or NOT to link or exclude concepts. Note: AND, OR and NOT must be capitalized!
If you are searching for books, use Tweak my results on the right of your search results page and choose Books under Format Type. Alternatively, use Quick Search's Advanced Search and choose Books under the Material Type drop-down menu. (Remember you will need to get the call number of your book to find it in the Library.)
To find ebooks, follow tip 2 above and then use Tweak my results to select Full Text Online under Availability. Use your ebook's Online access link to open and read the book!

Discover More Books

WorldCat on FirstSearch - ISU login This link opens in a new window
A library meta-catalog; ~90% of all U.S. libraries submit their collection records to WorldCat. FirstSearch is a more nuanced and higher quality search engine than the free WorldCat.org version.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form (ILLiad)
Any current ISU student, staff, faculty member or holder of the ISU Library Visitor's Card can request materials from other libraries from Interlibrary Loan.

Searching for Dissertations?

Dissertations & Theses @ Iowa State University This link opens in a new window
For most Iowa State University Ph.D. dissertations published since 1916, citations and abstracts, a 24-page preview, and the option to download the full text are available.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. NOTE: Those that are not available in full-text online can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Dissertations & Theses Global tutorial

Bound copies of most U.S. dissertations can be borrowed at no cost via the ISU interlibrary loan service.