Library Guides: Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web: Marine Science

Truly Free Indicator!

= Websites where everything in the site is free, full-text.

Websites:

BRIDGE
Ocean Sciences Education Teacher Resource Center.
Catalog of Fishes
by William N. Eschmeyer from the California Academy of Sciences. This is the online version of the 3 volume print catalog.
ETYFish Project
The first and only reference that aims to explain the name etymology of every valid genus, subgenus, species and subspecies of fish and fish-like raniate (excluding fossils).

Europa - The European Union On-Line This link opens in a new window
Europa is the official website of the European Union and contains extensive information about that organization.

FAO FishFinder
"Dedicated to improving fish identification for fisheries and biodiversity purposes." For each species, it includes regional guides, field guides, catalogs, fact sheets and distribution maps. Some publications are PDF format while others are downloadable zip files.
Fishbase
This source gives more than just taxonomic info for each species - it also includes distribution, biology, environment, size, etc. It covers 32,400 Species, 299,200 Common names, and 51800 Pictures. All species records and pictures are freely available. Publications mentioned in the entries are not usually available full-text online.
FishWise Professional
FishWisePro is a database of more than 102,000 scientific species name combinations and just over 34,800 fish pictures. It has been developed for Academics, Students, Marine Biologists, Authors, Ichthyologists and all other serious users interested in Fish.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Data Center
Contains links to a data library and archives from Woods Hole as well as links to data from other similar websites.

Many thanks to Sally Schramm from the Margaret Smith Library at the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity for suggesting many of these links!