The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric and professional communication, and the dramatic arts. Many of the citations to journal articles included in this database are available in full-text format.
The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains 300,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Included also is poetry in Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems, so that the poetry on Granger’s is also the poetry encountered in the classroom. Poet biographies and commentaries are also included.
The DLB is a long-running series of themed volumes, such as American Novelists Since World War II and Russian Writers Since 1980, each containing a few dozen long essays including a mixture of literary criticism and biographical information that puts the authors work in context. This database allows researchers to search the entire series at once, as well as supplementary publications like the DLB Yearbook Series and the DLB Documentary Series.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile pages of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. The full text of all of these documents is searchable.
These publications range in subject matter from English Literature to mathematics and science, and include publications important to the history of philosophy, religion, linguistics, music and fine arts.
This resource contains the full text of seven well-known series of literary reference works, including Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Childrens Literature Review. Users can search by author, subject, or the title of a literary work, using full-text or subject searches.
Authors, literary works, and literary topics and themes can also be browsed alphabetically.
This database provides an immense and widely varied collection of literary criticism and biographies (over 130,000 biographical entries), primary sources, and many multimedia selections.
Features like "Topic Finder" and "Term Frequency", respectively, allow researchers to see how literary topics are related to each other by means of a visual map layout, and to see how often a specific term has been used in literary scholarship throughout the years.
A companion to Literature Resource Center, this resource provides searchable access to the full text of many works of literature. The collection has over 100,000 poems as well as a substantial number of plays and short stories.
