Library Guides: Healthcare Management: Healthcare Statistics

Contact Me!

Contact Me!

Jeffrey Kushkowski | (he, him, his)

515-294-2408

kushkows@iastate.edu

Make an appointment with me!

ORCID: 0000-0002-5331-8149

Healthcare Statistics

AHA (American Hospital Association) - Statistics and Studies
Provides current and historical data on utilization, personnel, revenue, expenses, managed care contracts, community health indicators, physician models, and more.
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) - Health Care Costs
Includes information about health care costs, utilization, and cost-effectiveness.
CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Offers public health statistics, including utilization of hospitals and other health care facilities.
-See for example "Ambulatory Care," "Emergency Department Visits," "Hospital Utilization," and "Inpatient Surgery."
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
CMS is the federal agency that provides health coverage to more than 160 million through Medicare, Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program, and the Health Insurance Marketplace.
FRED Healthcare Statistics
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) includes lots of healthcare statistics.This link takes you to a search for "health care services." You may refine your search on the left side. If your results include lots of discontinued series - common with price index data - change the sort order on the right side to "last updated" to show current series.
NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics) Data Query System
From death rates and disabilities to nutrition, health insurance, and obesity, DQS allows users to explore data on over 120 public health topics. This tool features multiple ways to visualize trends in health data and the ability to download those data in table, chart, and map formats.
Hospital Compare
Provides hospital ratings
Leapfrog Group Hospital Ratings and Reports
Publishes hospital and surgery center ratings
City Health Dashboard
The Dashboard offers data on over 40 measures of health and drivers of health for over 970 cities across the U.S. – all cities over population 50,000 plus a growing set of smaller places.
County Health Rankings
A program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, provides a snapshot of the health of nearly every county in the nation. Focuses on a shared understanding of health, equity and the power of communities to improve health
Iowa County Health Indicators
The County Search panel includes health profiles for each iowa county.

World Health Organization This link opens in a new window
The WHO site provides access to health areas the organization is involved with, detailed data and statistics, and information about individual countries.

IPUMS Datasets

IPUMS, located at the University of Minnesota, provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. This makes it easy to study change and conduct comparative studies. See the main IPUMS site for a full listing of their products.

Contextual Determinents of Health
Contextual Determinants of Health (CDOH) provides access to measures of disparities, policies, and counts, by state or county, for historically marginalized populations in the United States including Black, Asian, Hispanic/Latina/o/e/x, LGBTQ+ persons and women.
Harmonized Health Survey Data
Harmonized data from the National Health Interview Series (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Survey (MEPS).
Global Health Data
Harmonized International Survey Data on Maternal, Child, and Reproductive Health