Library Guides: AMD 475: Retail Information Analysis: Company & Industry Research

How to Use Some of These Resources

Please watch these short videos for an overview of how to use some of these resources. If you have any questions or need help locating certain information from them, contact the librarian using the contact information above.

Mergent Online
- Gives a good overview of the database especially about finding financials of publicly traded companies
Mergent Intellect
- Covers how to effectively find competitors in an industry one is researching, and more ...
Business Insights: Global
- Shows how to find company profiles and other related information including industry, brand information, etc
IBISWorld
- A good look at how to find various information about an industry including market share reports and industry profiles. Also competition and industry forecast/outlook can be found here.
Factiva: Company Search
- Shows how to conduct company searches and does a good job explaining different facets of the search results.

Search Google

Recommended Databases For Finding Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search by NAICS code or keyword to find thousands of U.S. industry research reports. Includes reports for the US, UK, and China.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
At the bottom of Mergent Intellect is a powerful industry research tool called First Research. First Research "industry reports offer extensive industry research written from a objective business perspective".

Recommended Databases For Finding Company Information

Company Websites
An often overlooked place to learn about companies is their own websites. In their "About Us" page, you may glean some helpful leads such as the kinds of technologies they've employed or how they are dealing with challenges such as brand protection.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Coverage is 1980 to present.
Business: Insights tutorial

Yahoo Finance
"Provides financial news, data and commentary including stock quotes, press releases, financial reports, and original content". Some content can be freely accessed while others require a subscription.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Bizminer delivers online analytical content for US business students. Bizminer’s robust yet easy-to-communicate reports include industry financial benchmark reports, valuation tools and market analytics for over 9000 lines of business.

Please note: there is currently a problem with loading large Bizminer reports from off-campus. Contact the Library with the details of the report you need and we will assist you.

Data USA
Publicly available US Government data rendered in a visual format by Deloitte, Datawheel, and MIT professor Cesar Hidalgo. Grouped in categories including industries.
Google Finance
Focuses on business news and financial information.

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

Useful Links

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
"NAICS is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."
Office of Textiles and Apparel (OTEXA)
US import and export reports for textiles, apparel and footwear. No company information. Ranked imports to US by Category or Country are listed in the Major Shippers Report.
World Trade Organization International Trade and Market Access Data
Contains Textile and Clothing data
United States Fashion Industry Association (USFIA)
USFIA represents the fashion industry: textile and apparel brands, retailers, importers, and wholesalers based in the United States and doing business globally.