Library Guides: FS HN 421: Food Microbiology Laboratory: Find Articles

Search Tips

Exact phrase - put it in quotations

licorice AND "blood pressure"

Find specific types of articles:

licorice AND (study OR patients OR trial)
licorice AND "literature review*"

Find magazines or journals: look in the left sidebar of database results pages for the option to Limit To Magazines or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Truncate terms if appropriate. Adding an * at the end of a word will search for alternate word endings. For example, clon* will retrieve cloning, clone, clones, clonal.

Finding Articles

The ISU Library subscribes to many different article databases. The complete list is available under "Articles & Databases" on the Library's website.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is the world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical and life sciences literature, including: biomedicine and health, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biochemistry, genetics, molecular and cell biology.
PubMed tutorial
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (WoS) is a collection of databases that cover all topics. This link will take you to the page that searches all of these databases. To access more specific search tools you will need to search one database at a time using the dropdown menu.
Web of Science tutorial