The ISU Library has large collections of hard-copy books as well as electronic books. These include lots of material related to mechanical engineering, including reference handbooks, textbooks, and technical books that dig into highly specialized topics. Quick Search (the search box on the Library homepage) is the best way to search for books in the Library's collection.
Here are some quick basic tips for using the book collections:
Journal articles are the core of many research disciplines in science and technology. Most of the Library's journal collection is now electronic, and can be searched using a number of indexes and databases. You can use the specialized features of these search tools to quickly find a set of articles on a specific topic.
You can access these tools using the link here, or on the Library homepage (green button above Quick Search box). There are more than 400 search tools in the full list, so you can use the Subject drop-down option near the top to choose just mechanical engineering databases.
Standards, or agreed-upon ways of doing or designing things, are heavily used in industry. These documents specify how an item should be made by providing exact measurements and specifications about the materials. One example of a standardized product is the light bulb. No matter what brand you purchase in the U.S., the screw threads of the light bulb will probably fit your lamp (if it was also manufactured in the U.S.). European standards are often different - so a lamp made in Europe would probably need a different light bulb than those in the United States. Standards ensure that there is consistency and uniformity in items being produced.
The ISU Library standards collection is primarily located in Room 161, the Standards Center. Unlike other parts of our collections (such as journals), the majority of our standards are printed in hard copy and are not available online.
We have a lot more than books in our collection! In addition to the DVDs, CDs, and other items in our Media Collection, we also offer the following through Tech Lending:
Library equipment is for use by registered Iowa State University students only. Equipment may be checked out from the Tech Lending room (117 Parks Library, phone 515 294-1564), located just west of the Main Desk in the library lobby. In addition to the regular checkout process, you will also need to sign an equipment check-out agreement form, acknowledging your responsibilities regarding damage, theft, and late return, as well as the terms and conditions for checkout.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
