Search Tips
BMS 331: Principles of Morphology IIBMS 334: Biomedical Sciences IIVDPAM 312 : Veterinarian in Society IIVMPM 380 : Veterinary ImmunologyVPTH 342 : General Pathology
BMS 354: General PharmacologyVCS 395: Small Animal SurgeryVCS 398: AnesthesiologyVMPM 387: Veterinary VirologyVMPM 388: Public HealthVPTH 425: Clinical Pathology
VCS 315: Veterinary LawVCS 399: OphthalmologyVCS 448: RadiologyVDPAM 426: Veterinary ToxicologyVDPAM 445: Clinical MedicineVPTH 409: Cytology
BMS 401: Introduction to Aquatic MedicineBMS 403: Behavior of Domestic AnimalsVCS 396: Equine SurgeryVCS 451: Advances in Soft Tissue SurgeryVCS 461x: Advances in Small Animal Internal MedicineVDPAM 308x: Spanish for VeterinariansVDPAM 309: Introduction to Production InformaticsVDPAM 486: Introduction to Small Ruminant Production Medicine
This is the "Home" page of the "Veterinary Medicine Students' Guide (VM-1, VM-2, VM-3)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Iowa State University

Veterinary Medicine Students' Guide (VM-1, VM-2, VM-3)  

This guide contains links to resources useful to VM-1, VM-2, & VM-3 students.
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2014 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/vm123 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get Connected (Off-Campus Login)

1. Ready? Get your ISUCard!

2. Set? Set your Library password!

3. Go! Use the ISU e-Library!

If you're prompted to login while connecting to any of the e-Library resources or services, simply use the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number (sometimes called Borrower ID on Library web pages), and use your Library password. Don't have or don't remember your Library password?  Set a new one here.

ISU Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus.  Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact distance@iastate.edu)  See also our DL Guide

Problems?

First, if you're using a Virtual Private Network (VPN), turn it off.  A VPN client bypasses the steps listed above and delivers your request directly to the commercial database vendor, but without identifying you as an authorized user/subscriber. 

Get help!

Any difficulties finding or using Library resources? Contact us through Ask Us!

 

Welcome

Welcome to the Veterinary Medical Library!

This guide is for VM-1, VM-2, and VM-3 students at the College of Veterinary Medicine. A separate guide is available for VM-4 students.

Mouse over the "Books on Reserve: Spring 2014" tabs for more information regarding the books that have been placed on reserve for some courses. This information was provided by the instructors. NOTE: As of 1/10/2014, this information is in the process of being revised for the spring semester. Check back for updates.

Should you have any questions regarding your search for information, feel free to contact the Veterinary Medicine Subject Librarian, Jeff Alger.

Guide created 07/11/2011
Last updated 08/06/2013

 

Welcome New Students!

Welcome to the Veterinary Medical Library!

Based on suggestions from current CVM students, a "top 10 list" has been compiled of things you need to know.  Please ask the library staff members (Andrea, Kristi, and Lana) or the student employees if you have any questions.  

Library Hours: During the fall and spring semesters, Library hours are as follows:

Monday - Thursday, 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday, 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sunday, 2:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Top 10 Things You Need to Know about the Veterinary Medical Library

1. Veterinary Medical Library Homepage:  http://www.lib.iastate.edu/info/6290  The webpage is also accessible from the College of Veterinary Medicine homepage: http://www.vetmed.iastate.edu/   There is a link on the left-hand side of the homepage.

2. To Check Out Material: Your red ISUCard is your library card. You need it to take books/journals out of the library and to use "Reserve at Desk" books both in and outside of the library. Books that are not on Reserve are checked out on "extended loan"; you may keep them until the end of the academic school year. If a book is checked out on "extended loan", you may "recall" a book. Use the "request item" feature in Quick Search.

3. Books and Journals: Library materials are shelved by Library of Congress (LC) call numbers. When you walk into the Library, journals are shelved on the right-hand side of the room. Many journals are available online. Books are shelved beyond the service desk and the "Reference" shelves on the left-hand side of the room. You may check “Reference” books out for 1 day.

4. Reserve Material:  Professors often place materials on Reserve for their courses. Reserve books are kept on the "Reserve at Desk" shelves at the service desk.  Class notes and other uncatalogued items are also held at the service desk. Ask staff if you need assistance. Note: Reserve books can be checked out for 2 hours.  Click on the "VM1: Books on Reserve: Fall 2013 tab at the top of this guide for the list of books that are on reserve for the fall semester.

5. Article Databases: There are a large number of journals available online. The best databases for topics related to veterinary medicine are CAB Abstracts and PubMed.

6. Study Tables: Study tables are separated into two sections: group study and individual study. Group study tables are located on the Journal side of the room; groups are allowed to converse at these tables. Individual study tables and carrels are located beyond the book stacks. Please note that conversations are not allowed in the "quiet" area of the library.

7. Scanner: Scanning is free! You can email images or save them to a USB drive. Because the files may be large, saving them to a USB drive is the recommended method. 

8. Printing: The nearest printers that your laptop can access are in Room 2272 (next to the Office of Academic & Student Affairs). Each student receives a credit towards printing at the beginning of the fall semester each year. If you use all of your credit, any additional charges will be billed to your U-bill.

9. Delivery Services: Two services offer you access to material not housed in the Veterinary Medical Library.

  • Vet Med Express provides free delivery of materials to the Veterinary Medical Library from Parks Library.
  • Interlibrary Loan provides materials not owned by ISU and is usually free. An electronic request form is available from the Veterinary Medical Library homepage. Ask staff if you have questions about these services.

10. Off-campus Access: The electronic journals and article databases are available off-campus. All you need is your ISUCard number (last 11 digits) and a Library password.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip