Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Iowa State University
Library Guides! - Lorrie Pellack

Your Librarian

Guides

AgNIC Swine Resources
by Jeff Alger, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
Iowa State University's contribution to the Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC) project coordinated by the National Agricultural Library, USDA.
Tags: agnic, hogs, pigs, pork, swine
Agricultural Education & Studies: Getting Started with Research
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
Beginning-level resources for locating information in agricultural education and studies.
Tags: agriculture, education, extension, getting_started, research, science, soils, usda
Agricultural Education & Studies: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Dec 17, 2013
Advanced guide to research resources for locating information in agricultural education and studies - including curriculum materials, journal articles, and dissertations.
Tags: agricultural_education, agriculture, curricula, curriculum, education, extension, in-depth
Agricultural Statistics: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
This guide is intended to help researchers to discover a broader range of resources related to the subject of agricultural statistics, census and related data.
Tags: agriculture, in-depth, statistics
Agronomy: Getting Started with Research
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Beginning-level resources for locating information in agronomy
Tags: agriculture, agronomy, getting_started, soil_science
Agronomy: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Advanced guide to research resources for locating information in agronomy.
Tags: agriculture, agronomy, crops, farming, science, soil_science, soils, sustainability, weeds
Alert Services: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Covers basic techniques for setting up alerts (a.k.a. current awareness services) - including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, twitter, and Facebook.
Tags: alerts, blogs, current_awareness, e-journals, facebook, how-to, rss, table_of_contents, twitter
Alumni & Community Research: In-Depth Resources
by Rebecca Jackson, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
This guide is intended to alert ISU alumni and the general public to research resources that are available to them from the ISU Libraries - both remotely and on-campus.
Tags: alumni, free, in-depth, iowa_citizens, library_visitors, non-affiliated
Census: In-Depth Resources
by Jeff Kushkowski, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
Guide to locating statistical data as well as population schedules for a variety of U.S. Censuses. Also has links to information on censuses taken in a variety of other countries.
Tags: agriculture, census, demographics, economic, housing, manufacturing, maps, metropolitan_statistical_area, micropolitan_statistical_areas, population, social_characteristics, standard_metropolitan_statistical_area, statistics, tracts
Cited Reference Searching: In-Depth Resources
by Jeff Kushkowski, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
This guide covers search techniques and resources that offer the ability to search the list of references (or footnotes) found in journal articles, books, websites, etc.
Tags: citation, cited_reference, crossref, google_scholar, impact_factors, in-depth, indexes, journal_analysis, self-citations
Conference Proceedings: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
Techniques for locating conference papers and journal articles that were based on conference presentations.
Tags: abstracts, association, conferences, engineering, how-to, meetings, papers, preprints, proceedings, science, scientific, symposia, symposium, transactions
Engaged Scholarship
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 13, 2014
This guide is an outgrowth of the ISU Task Force on the Scholarship of Engagement and Outreach from 2013-2014. It is intended to encourage ISU researchers to pursue projects that result in scholarship related to community engagement.
Tags: community, engagement, extension, faculty, outreach, promotion, research, scholarly, scholarship, tenure
Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Dec 17, 2013
Resources that are freely accessible to researchers from anywhere in the world. No library affiliation or subscriptions are required to access the full text.
Tags: free, full-text, science, sciences, scientific
Genealogy: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 10, 2014
This guide is intended to assist genealogists in knowing what resources are available in the ISU Library and through the Internet. It also includes some information on genealogy resources at Ames Public Library and the Iowa Genealogical Society Library.
Tags: family_history, genealogical, in-depth
Iowa-Related Science Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Guide to little-known, hard to find links related to a wide range of scientific topics in Iowa.
Tags: iowa, science, sciences
Morrill Act & Land-Grant Universities
by Ed Goedeken, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
This guide is for researchers interested in learning more about the history of the Morrill Act and land-grant universities in the U.S. Each tab contains links to web-accessible resources and tips for finding additional information.
Tags: history, land-grant, morrill act
Patents: A How-To-Find Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Feb 25, 2014
Information on locating full-text of patents granted worldwide.
Tags: engineering, how-to, intellectual_property, inventions, patent_searching, patents, science
Preprints: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Dec 17, 2013
"The term “preprint” most often refers to a manuscript that has gone through a peer-review process and now awaits publication in a traditional journal. A preprint accessible over the Web may also be referred to as an “e-print.”
Tags: agriculture, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer_science, engineering, how-to, mathematics, physics, statistics
Promotion & Tenure: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 31, 2014
This guide is intended to provide resources useful to individuals who need to evaluate research and its impact. It includes journal acceptance rates, citation analysis, impact factors, journal rankings, creating publication lists, etc.
Tags: acceptance_rates, citation_analysis, cited_reference, impact_factors, in-depth, journal_rankings, promotion, tenure
Science & Engineering Teaching: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Sep 5, 2013
A handy collection of materials relevant to teachers in science and engineering. It includes information on how to find resources for curriculum development, teaching standards, science experiments, engineering design projects, etc.
Tags: curricula, curriculum, education, engineering, experiments, in-depth, science, sciences, teaching
Science: Getting Started with Research
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
A beginning guide for those doing research on scientific topics.
Tags: getting_started, research, science, sciences, scientific
Science: In-Depth Resources
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
Guide to popular science and general interdisciplinary science resources.
Tags: biographies, images, in-depth, popular_science, science, science_education, sciences, videos
Standards & Specifications: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Nov 17, 2013
Guide to searching for, and locating full-text of, industry standards.
Tags: ansi, astm, engineering, how-to, iso, sciences, specifications, standards
Technical Reports: Sources for Researchers
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide provides links to a wide variety of databases/websites containing technical reports.
Tags: aeronautics, aerospace, engineering, how-to, nasa, science, sciences, technical reports, technology
Tutorials & Workshops
by Library Instruction Programs, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Guide to database tutorials, workshops, and training sessions - live and recorded.
Tags: research, training, tutorials, workshops

Office Hours

Monday-Friday 8am-5pm
 

Ask Us!

Feel free to chat with another ISU Librarian, by clicking on the O below, if I am unavailable.
 


IM A Librarian at ISU

 
 
Description

  Loading...