Written by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
by Anne Maczulak
Call Number: QR9 .M33 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
In more than 200 entries, Encyclopedia of Microbiology presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. Focusing on how all microorganisms relate to each other just as all higher organisms relate to all other animate and inanimate objects on Earth, this new resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions, which are even more streamlined than viruses and just as dangerous. Biographical sections in many entries highlight the scientists who most influenced developments or discoveries in microbiology, including Louis Pasteur. Entries cover new techniques in microscopy, genetic engineering, gene therapy, and nanotechnology. A full-color insert, helpful appendixes, cross-references, and further resources round out this invaluable resource.
Topics in Ecological and Environmental Microbiology
by Thomas M. Schmidt (Editor); Moselio Schaechter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-09-28
Topics in Ecological and Environmental Microbiology provides an overview of ecological aspects of the metabolism and behavior of microbes, microbial habitats, biogeochemical cycles, and biotechnology. Written by recognized authorities in the field Includes topics such as air quality, marine habitats, food webs, and microbial adhesion Provides a thematic mix of both classic and cutting -edge reviews, with suggested further reading in each chapter
Principles of Microbial Diversity
by James W. Brown
Call Number: QR73 B76 2015 Tier 4
Publication Date: 2014
Within these richly illustrated pages, author and professor James W. Brown provides a practical guide to microbial diversity from a phylogenetic perspective in which students learn to construct and interpret evolutionary trees from DNA sequences. He then offers a survey of the "tree of life" that establishes the necessary basic knowledge about the microbial world. Finally, the author draws the student's attention to the universe of microbial diversity with focused studies of the contributions that specific organisms make to the ecosystem. Principles of Microbial Diversity fills an empty niche in microbiology textbooks by providing an engaging, cutting-edge view of the "microbial zoo" that exists around us, covering bacteria, archaea, eukaryotes, and viruses.
Soil Ecology and Ecosystem Services
by Diana H. Wall (Editor); Richard D. Bardgett (Editor); Valerie Behan-Pelletier (Editor); Jeffrey E. Herrick (Editor); Hefin Jones (Editor); Karl Ritz; Johan Six; Donald R. Strong; Wim H. van der Putten
Call Number: QH541.5 S6 S6429 2012 Tier 3
Publication Date: 2012
This multi-contributor, international volume synthesizes contributions from the world's leading soil scientists and ecologists, describing cutting-edge research that provides a basis for the maintenance of soil health and sustainability. The book covers these advances from a unique perspectiveof examining the ecosystem services produced by soil biota across different scales - from biotic interactions at microscales to communities functioning at regional and global scales. The book leads the user towards an understanding of how the sustainability of soils, biodiversity, and ecosystemservices can be maintained and how humans, other animals, and ecosystems are dependent on living soils and ecosystem services.
Biodiversity of Microbial Life
by James T. Staley; Anna-Louise Reysenbach
Publication Date: 2001
Biodiversity of Microbial Life places the importance and novelty of the diversity of the microbial world in perspective with the biodiversity of plants and animals. Microbial diversity has driven the evolution of all life on Earth as well as the nutrient cycles, which are key to the operation of the biosphere. Microorganisms live in all ecosystems, even extreme environments not habitable to other organisms. Noted experts including Carl Woese, the originator of the Tree of Life, and Rita Colwell, who is now Director of the National Science Foundation, offer their unique perspectives on the extent and importance of microbial biodiversity. Biodiversity of Microbial Life is an essential resource for all biologists interested in biodiversity.