This guide lists all the major resources for research in Library and Information Sciences.
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013
Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus. Off-campus access requires an ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact email@example.com) See also our DL Guide.
- ALA | Library Fact Sheets
The ALA fact sheets provide information on such things as the number of libraries in the US, marketing to libraries, video and copyright, and moving libraries.
- Cataloger's Reference Shelf
Access to cataloging formats of all types.
- Digital Collections Registry
Web-searchable database of the Digital Library Federation members' public-domain, online digital collections.
- Digital Libraries: Cataloguing and Indexing of Electronic Resources
A list of international sites with useful cataloging information.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A directory and search engine for free, full-text, aopen-access scientific and scholarly electronic journals.
- Information Resources
From the Special Libraries Association, a useful collection of Web resources for librarians, including ready reference resources, subject specific resources, and resources for professional development.
- Internet Library for Librarians
A guide to Internet resources related to the library profession.
- Internet Library of Early Journals
The 'Internet Library of Early Journals' aims to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data.
- IPEDS Executive Peer Tool and Peer Analysis System
From the National Center for Education Statistics, this site allows the user to get information on a particular library, or to customize a peer group to view customized reports of the comparisons between the library of interest and its peers on a variety
- IPL2 and Librarians' Internet Index
Thousand of quality internet sites handpicked by librarians.
- Keeping Up
From Bell, "A central, guiding premise of this web site is that academic librarians and technology professionals must go beyond the constraints of their own literature to really keep up and maintain their myriad skills and diversified knowledge base."
- Library and Information Science: A Guide to Online Resources (Virtual Programs
"free, full-text resources available on the Web for use by librarians, library technicians, and students in the field."
- Library Conference Planner
By Douglas Hasty, this site has links to library conference websites, national and international, as well as to accommodations and airlines, and other interesting information.
- MARC Standards
From the Library of Congress, LC policies, programs and standards for the cataloger.
- The On-line Books Page Presents Banned Books On-Line
Contains listing of banned books with links to their full-text versions plus a brief history of banned books in the United States.
- OpenDOAR - Home Page - Directory of Open Access Repositories
An index to a wide number of institutional repositories worldwide.
- The Open Video Project
This project has just begun. Its purpose is to provide a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
- Sci-Bytes: What's New in Research
From ISI, contains ranking of high impact research universities and journals ranked by impact in select disciplines.
- Sending Books to Needy Libraries: Book Donation Programs
A listing of websites for donating books or journals both nationally and internationally.
- Understanding MARC: Machine-Readable Cataloging
A great introduction to MARC for the non-expert.
- WebAIM: Web Accessibility in Mind
This site is for evaluation of websites for accessibility of people with disabilities.
- Dissertations & Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Dissertations & Theses provides access to abstracts and information about United States and selected foreign Dissertations published since 1861. Access to the database is available by subject, author, title and other methods.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Iowa State University
Dissertations & Theses @ Iowa State University searches for Iowa State University theses and dissertations only.
The premier education index/abstract, ERIC provides access to more than a million citations and abstracts of articles published in over 700 educational journals and thousands of reports from 1966 to the present.
- Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web
Links to online exhibitions created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, focused primarily on library and archival materials.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
The oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science, coverage in Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts extends back to 1966.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Library Literature provides access to articles from more than 220 key library and information science periodicals from 1984 to the present
- IPL2: Internet Public Library and Librarians' Index to the Internet
An index to librarian-selected internet resources on just about every topic.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
A searchable database of accessible digital libraries of these and dissertations.
- ODLIS--Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
A good reference source for defining terms that librarians may encounter in their work.
- Open Access Bibliography
A great source for information on open-access materials.
- The Researching Librarian
A compilation of Web resources helpful for librarians doing research with the categories: databases, funding, journals, statistics, tools, awareness, and proceedings.
- The Resource Shelf
News and resources for information professionals. Updated daily.
- Center for Research Libraries
A consortium of colleges, universities and research libraries. Search the CRL catalog of over 600,000 holdings.
Provides links to library catalogs on the WWW searchable by geographical, vendor and library-type indexes; links to publisher's catalogs, Z39.50 resources, and versions of Hytelnet.