The items listed below represent some of the best current sources for history. They contain numerous links to other websites which feature various aspects of the past.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014
Most of our indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact firstname.lastname@example.org) See also our DL Guide.
These links will help you to be more effective and ethical in your research and writing:
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts on research journal articles relevant to the study of the history of the World from 1450 to the present. Also includes citations to books and dissertations.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.