Skip to main content

Graduate Students: Everything you need to know about the Library... but were afraid to ask!

Library Orientation for Grad Students & Post Docs

FIRST THINGS FIRST - ACCESS!

Off-Campus Access?
   ISUCard

Your ISUCard serves as a photo ID and doubles as your ISU Library card for borrowing library materials.  

To login from off-campus:
To access most library resources from off-campus, you can choose to log in with either your University Net-ID or your 11-digit University ID. We recommend using your Net-ID and ISU email password as ISU and the Library are moving toward Net-ID for everything.

NOTE: Your Net-ID is the portion of your ISU email address that appears before the @ symbol, as in: yournetid@iastate.edu

In a few rare instances, you may be asked to login with the last 11 digits of your University ID and a Library password. If that happens, you can set your Library password here, and then use it immediately with the 11 digit login.

QUICK LIST

WORKSHOP GOALS

Welcome!  

This Guide accompanies the "Graduate Students: Everything you Need to Know about the Library... but were afraid to ask!" Library workshop. The workshop goals are as follows:

  Learn about selected Library services, databases, and information available to support your graduate studies

  Learn who is YOUR subject librarian

  Give you introductory hands-on search experience with some of the databases

Friendly URL for this Guide: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/grads

Purple Divider

WHAT WE CAN DO FOR YOU: IMPORTANT SERVICES

Here are just a few helpful Library resources & services that support graduate students and post docs in your research, teaching, and professional development.

Your Librarian! 
Find your librarian here! We are your primary contacts to learn about library collections and research databases in your subject areas, instructional support for your classes, and reference services. Browse the list to find and contact your librarian today!

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery
ILLiad is the name of our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery service. This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to have materials delivered to you. Use ILLiad's online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISU Net-ID and password to login to this online request form!

Ask Us!
IM, email, phone us! Your options for library assistance and questions, whether you're here in the library, in your office, or off-campus. Connect with knowledgeable Library staff! 

WHAT IS "My Library Card" ?

The My Library Card link in the top right corner of our Library website leads to TWO different ways to login, neither of which is explained. Here's an explanation:


green star ISU Net-ID login: this one allows you to to see what you have checked out, renew items, save your searches, and so on.  Login using your ISU Net-ID and the same password you use for login to AccessPlus, Canvas, your ISU email, etc. In addition, when you are off-campus, as of Fall 2018 this login method now also allows you access into our subscription ejournals, databases, full-text articles, and more. If you encounter any access problems, please do report these promptly.

green star The last 11-digits on your red ISUCard and your Library password: this method allows you to have off-campus access to our subscription ejournals, full-text articles, online indexes and databases, Course Reserves materials, and so on. You may see this method called Borrower ID login. You'll also need to set a Library password for logging in this way.


We are moving toward a single sign-in solution for all your Library needs.  When you are given a choice for either Net-ID or last 11 digits as your login, we recommend you choose Net-ID, as this is the direction we are moving.  You may find a few of our online Library services still require the 11 digit login.  We are not yet there with single sign-in for all our services - definitely stay tuned!

Book Retrieval Service!

A helpful service to know about:

Pick from Shelf: Wish you could have assistance in getting library books you need pulled from the shelves for you, and you pick them up from an easy location? You can now, with our new "Pick from Shelf" service! 

Here's how it works:  On the Library's website, login using the My Library Card link in the top right corner.  Now use Quick Search to find a book you want, and then click the book's title to open its record.  See the Request Options section? Just choose the Request link, and choose where you want to pick up the book - from the Parks Library Circulation Desk, or the Vet Med Library, or Design Reading Room - you're done! More info

Pick from Shelf - Request link

 

ISU Graduate College New Student Orientation, Fall 2018

The ISU Graduate College hosted their Fall 2018 New Graduate Student Orientation program on Aug. 23 from 5:30 to 7:30 pm CST.  Couldn't attend in person?  Watch & listen to the archived live stream here!