Basic resources for locating information for geology and earth sciences.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2013
Guide created 1/7/08
Links last checked 6/12/12
Text last updated 8/20/09
Items listed here are basic research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to geology and earth sciences.
- Academic Search Premier
A good general-purpose database with journals and popular magazines. Many of the articles are full-text. Useful to anyone seeking information on topics in the areas of current events.
- Access World News
Full text access to over 1500 national and international newspapers.
- Columbia Earthscape
Columbia Earthscape is an integrated, interdisciplinary resource that connects the Earth and environmental sciences with their social, political and economic dimensions.
Full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals in a broad range of geoscience areas.
Web resources useful for finding information on recent and current geological events such as earthquakes, volcano activity, etc.
- Active Fire Mapping System
From the USDA Forest Service. Updated each Friday, or as conditions warrant.
- Electronic Volcano
A window into the world of information on active volcanoes. Provides access to maps, photographs and full texts of dissertations as well as a few elusive documents.
- Landslide & Debris Flow (FEMA)
- Landslide Hazards (from USGS)
- National Interagency Fire Center
Links on left side to maps, statistics, videos, podcasts, and wildland fire gear. Top of the page has links to prevention and educational materials.
- ScienceDaily Earth & Climate News
- Volcano World: the Web's Premier Source of Volcano Info
Links on right side of page give access to sites on volcanoes and volcanic phenomena, using remote sensing images to provide near real time currency. Offers interactive experiments, interviews, and teaching resources.
Site includes Google Earth, real-time streamflow, and regional streamflow data all in KML format, flood and drought watches, and recent/historical maps.
- Wildfire Hazards Factsheet
From the USGS...a free downloadable PDF fact sheet.
- Worldwide Earthquake Locator
Provides basic data and map displays about recent earthquakes from the (US) National Earthquake Information Center, as well as links to several related sites.
Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus. Off-campus access requires an ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact email@example.com) See also our DL Guide.