Regardless of your location, as ISU faculty/staff, there are MANY research tools available for your use through remote access to our collections and databases.
FYI - Iowa residents can also walk into our libraries and use all of our resources freely on-site, including our databases and online materials.
If you have any questions regarding your search for information, feel free to contact the librarian shown on the right side of this page or use our Ask Us! service to email or chat with a member of our staff.
The My Library Card link in the top right corner of our Library website leads to TWO different ways to login, neither of which is explained. Here's an explanation:
ISU Net-ID login: this one allows you to to see what you have checked out, renew items, save your searches, and so on. Login using your ISU Net-ID and the same password you use for your iastate.edu email account. In addition, when you are off-campus, as of Fall 2018 this login method now also allows you access into our subscription ejournals, databases, full-text articles, and more.
The last 11-digits on your red ISUCard and your Library password: this method allows you to have off-campus access to our subscription ejournals, full-text articles, online indexes and databases, Course Reserves materials, and so on. You may see this method called Borrower ID login. You'll also need to set a Library password for logging in this way.
We are moving toward a single sign-in solution for all your Library needs. When you are given a choice for either Net-ID or last 11 digits as your login, we recommend you choose Net-ID, as this is the direction we are moving. You may find a few of our online Library services still require the 11 digit login. We are not yet there with single sign-in for all our services - definitely stay tuned!