This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Iowa State University

Engineering Research Guide   Tags: engineering, in-depth, technology  

This guide is intended to help researchers to discover a broad range of publications in general and interdisciplinary engineering.
Last Updated: May 30, 2014 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

Most of our indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password.  See Set your Library password for more information. 

Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus.  Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number.  Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact distance@iastate.edu)  See also our DL Guide

  Information Literacy Guides

 

Search for Books & More

Find Books & More - ISU Library
 

Welcome

This subject guide is for Engineering. Each tab contains information and links to regularly used resources by students, faculty, and other researchers interested in a variety of engineering topics.

Should you have any questions regarding your search for information, feel free to contact the General Engineering Subject Specialist, Kris Stacy-Bates, whose contact information is located in the sidebar at the right of the screen.

Finding articles and other publications

Research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to engineering.

Watch for "GetIt@ISU" links that lead to online full text when the ISU Library has it (and to other options if we don't).

  • CSA Technology Research Database  
      
    Engineering abstracts database, containing over ten million records, with 300,000+ records added annually. Sources covered include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, and books. 1962-present.
  • Compendex  
      
    A comprehensive engineering abstracts database, containing over than five million records, with 220,000+ records added annually. Publication types covered include journals, conference papers, and technical reports. Coverage extends 1884-present.
  • Web of Science
    Covers major journals and conference proceedings in a range of subjects, including engineering, and has links to make it easy to see which authors have cited others.
  • ASABE Technical Library
    All recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Journals from 1998 forward and all other ASABE technical publications from 2001 to current.
  • Energy Citations Database
    Free database of citations to scientific and technical research publications in disciplines of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy. Covers report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
  • Guide to Computing Literature
    Covers works from major publishers in computing. Includes full text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM Digital Library), with some material dating back to the 1950s.
  • IEEE Xplore (IEL)
    Full-text online access to publications of the IEEE and the IET. Content includes journal and magazine articles, conference papers, standards, and books, and includes IEEE Computer Society publications.
  • Transport Research International Documentation (TRID)
    1,000,000+ records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years.

E-Book Collections for Engineering

  • ENGnetBASE
    Full-text technical handbooks published by CRC Press.
  • Digital Engineering Library
    Full-text handbooks published by McGraw-Hill.
  • SpringerLink e-Books
    SpringerLink provides access to Springer and Apress computer books, Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LCNS), and many Springer journals. Off-campus login available.
  • Synthesis Digital Library
    An information service for the research and educational community in engineering and computer science.The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture," an electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic.
  • National Academies Press
    E-books from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
  • NetLibrary
    NetLibrary hosts many of ISU's available e-books, but login for off-campus use requires signing up from a computer in the library. See About NetLibrary for login information.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Kris Stacy-Bates
Contact Info
152 Parks Library
515-294-6819
Send Email
Ask Us!:
IM, email, phone - Ask an ISU Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip