E-Resources
- The Educator's Reference Desk: Resource Guides
Includes many lesson plans and links to online education resources. - Encyclopedia of Education
Major encyclopedia available both online and in paper. - World Education Encyclopedia
Describes educational systems around the world. - Mental Measurements Yearbook
Database of commercially-available educational, personality, aptitude, and intelligence tests. - Encyclopedia of Educational Technology Short multimedia articles created by faculty and graduate students at San Diego State University.
Search for Books at ISU
Finding E-journals
Important Indexes and Abstracts
These resources help you find journal articles on your subject.
- ERIC
EBSCO version of ERIC - ERIC
CSA version of ERIC. ERIC is a major database for finding journal articles and documents in the field of education. Parks Library gets versions of ERIC from two different vendors, so although they look different they access the same content. - Education Abstracts
Accesses more than 400 English language periodicals and yearbooks in education from 1983 to the present. - Education Index Retrospective
Indexes about 500 periodicals and yearbooks from 1929 to 1983. Continued by Education Abstracts. - Professional Development Collection
Has full text coverage for over 300 periodicals and indexes 430 more across the field of education.
Other Useful Indexes and Abstracts
- Dissertations and Theses
Provides access to citations and abstracts of U.S. and some foreign dissertations since 1861. - Library Literature
Provides access to articles on school librarianship and media centers. - PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association. Is the major index in the field of psychology. - Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Indexes materials on the development of children through age 21. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers linguistics and language research, also speech, hearing and language pathology.
Governmental Resources
- Iowa Department of Education
Information about preschool through community college education in Iowa. - Board of Regents, State of Iowa
Governing body of Iowa's public universities. - U.S. Dept. of Education
Good source for statistical information. - UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization education site. Provides access to information and statistics for over 200 countries. - World Bank EdStats
The World Bank Collects worldwide data on education from national statistical reports and other data sources.
Subject Guide |
Finding Children's Materials
- MAS Fulltext Ultra
Contains full text for more than 500 popular high school-level magazines. - Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. - Primary Search
Provides full text for 70 magazines for elementary school-level research. - Children's Core Collection
A selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade. - Great Websites for Kids List of high quality websites designed for use by children
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait