This Day in History
This information is available courtesy of the Infoplease web site.
Loading...
Off-Campus Access
Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus. Off-campus access requires an ISU Borrower ID (last 11 digits of your ISUCard) and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
ISU Distance Education students & instructors, please see our Distance Learning page, our fuller DL Guide, and the ISU DE website's New Student Information (pdf) for more specifics about off-campus access and getting your ISUCard number.
International Newsstand
- Newspapermap.comThis interactive map will help you locate more than 10,000 newspapers from around the world. Color coded by language the map provides a link to each publication. You can choose to read the content in it's original language or have Google translator deliver the content in English.
Finding Newspapers
This guide provides information and links for accessing current and historical newspapers. This information is available in a variety of formats - online, in print, and on microfilm.
Current issues of many newspapers can be found in the Bookends Reading Room, located on the first floor of Parks Library.
Below is a list of quick links to some of the Indexes & Databases the University Library subscribes to:
- Access World News - this database provides access to local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.
- Ethnic NewsWatch - provides full text access current and historical (1959-1989) newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Newspaper Source - provides access to 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers,as well as selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- LexisNexis Academic - this database provides access to more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. It is also a good source for hard-to-find broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, political transcripts of Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences.
Card Catalog & Indexes
Using the one remaining catalog card file is another way to locate older contents in the following local publications. This card catalog is located in the LCC on the short shelves near the Atlas stand. Take a look you never know what you might find.
Publications indexed in the card catalog:
|
Iowa State Publications Iowa State Daily Alumnus (LH 1 Io9a) Iowa Agriculturalist (S1 Io9) Iowa Engineer (TA1 Io9) Iowa Homemaker (TX1 Io9) Iowa State Scientist (Q1 Io05) Faculty Newsletter (C M 16f) Library at Iowa State (C CF I65L) News of Iowa State |
Local Newspapers Ames Tribune - in card file, interfiled with the Des Moines Register (~1955-1975)
Des Moines Register - in card file, interfiled with Ames Tribune (~1955-1975)
Iowa State Daily
|
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Journalism & Mass Communication Studies, Sociology, and Women's & Gender Studies Ask Us!: IM, email, phone |

Loading...
