This is the "Home" page of the "Materials Science Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Data Sources - InternetElectronic Journals

Admin Sign In 

Materials Science Engineering  Tags: materials science technology engineering polymers biomaterials ceramics metals composites nanomaterials nanoscience  

Information Resources and Links to support materials science and engineering
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/materials  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

General Resource Links (Left Sidebar)

SciTech-Frequently Used Links (Left Sidebar)

 
 

Introduction

Materials Science and Engineering is concerned with all of the various kinds of stuff used to build the material world that we live in. It is concerned with materials as familiar as wood and brick and as exotic as the ceramic tiles on the space shuttle and the latest metallic composites used in golf clubs or as bone replacements.

The following are information resources on the World Wide Web that are available to researchers and students of materials science and engineering. Some of the following may only be immediately available to the students and faculty of Iowa State University. The web addresses have been included so that non-ISU researchers can get in touch with the publishers of the material.

Other online bibliographies of interest to materials scientists and engineers:

 

Index and Abstract Databases

The following resources are of use to all material sciences and engineers researchers because they are the ones concerned with the general problems of materials science and engineering or are involved with several of the various types of materials. More specialized resources will be found in the sections for different types of materials.

Primary Materials Science and Engineering Article Databases

  • Compendex
    Elsevier Engineering Information
    www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/compdx.html (www.engineeringvillage2.org/)
    Compendex is one of the principal engineering databases. It covers materials engineering as well as other areas of engineering that use materials information such as chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, and others. Journal articles, book reviews, meeting reports, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials are indexed since 1969. For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.
  • CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
    Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    www.csa2.com (www.csa.com)
    This is a subgroup of engineering databases that are a part of the CSA Technology Research Database. This contains a collection of materials science databases that cover all types of materials studied by the discipline. It indexes over 3,000 journals, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, and other type of relevant literature.
  • CSA Technology Research Database
    Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    www.csa2.com (www.csa.com)
    Cambridge Scientific Abstracts produces a large number of databases of engineering information. These have been combined into this single general engineering database covering engineeering literature back to 1962. It indexes over 4,000 journals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, trade literature, and other publications. To search this database select it from the list of databases by checking it. Then click on the Continue to Search link.
  • MicroPatent Materials Patents
    MicroPatent USA and Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/micropatent.html
    This is a database of materials science patent information drawn from United States, European, and Patent Cooperation Treaty participants. Metallurgical, polymer, ceramic, and other disciplines are covered.
 

Major Scientific and Technical Databases & Other Databases with Relevant Material

 

·         Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
H.W. Wilson and Company
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/astixx.html (www.oclc.org/support/documentation/firstsearch/databases/dbdetails/details/AppSciTechInd.htm)
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (formerly Applied Science and Technology Index) covers the practical uses of science and technical information in all areas including materials science and engineering, chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, and related areas. The database covers journal articles, review articles, conference and other meetings reports, and book reviews from 1983. For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.

·         Current Contents Connect
Thomson ISI (Institute for Scientific Information)
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/cccxxx.html (isiknowledge.com)
This database indexes the most recent issues of the important journals in all academic disciplines. Generally new articles will be listed here before they appear in the major subject-specific databases such as Compendex. The database only covers materials published during the last two years. For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.

·         Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)
University Microforms International
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/dissab.html (wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/gateway)
Dissertation Abstracts includes citations for dissertations produced in the United States and for some foreign universities. Dissertations are covered from 1860 to the present.

·         ISI Proceedings
Thomson ISI (Institute for Scientific Information)
isiknowledge.com
This indexes conferences, symposia, and materials from the meetings of scientists and other scholars in all subject areas. The database covers meetings from 1991 to the present. For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.

·         MathSciNet
American Mathematical Society
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/mathsc.html (www.ams.org/mathscinet)
This database contains citations from MathematicalReviews and Current Mathematical Publications. It covers the mathematical literature since 1940. Currently nearly 1800 journals as well as conference proceedings, books, and other publications are indexed.

·         NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/ntisxx.html (md2.csa.com/)
This is the general technical report database for the U.S. government. It includes research from a wide spectrum of technical areas, including including materials science, chemistry, chemical engineering, physics, and related fields. For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.

·         OAIster
Digital Library Production Services, University of Michigan
oaister.umdl.umich.edu/o/oaister/
OAIster is an index to Internet resources. It provides access to a variety of journal articles, technical reports, theses, software programs, and other materials from a large variety of academic, society, publishers, and other sources in all subject areas. All of the materials in the database are located on websites that are part of the Open Archives Initiative. Not all materials are available as full-text.

·         PapersFirst
OCLC (Online Computer Library Center)
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/papfst.html (www.oclc.org/support/documentation/firstsearch/databases/dbdetails/details/PapersFirst.htm)
The database provides access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers conferences in all subject disciplines, including materials science, chemistry, chemical engineering, and related fields.

·         ProceedingsFirst
OCLC (Online Computer Library Center)
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/profst.html (www.oclc.org/support/documentation/firstsearch/databases/dbdetails/details/ProceedingsFirst.htm)
ProceedingsFirst indexes an extensive collection of scientific and academic conference, workshops, symposia, and other meetings proceedings collected since 1993 by the British Library. It is a complementary database to PapersFirst.

·         SciFinder Scholar
American Chemical Society
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/scifnd2007.html (www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/SCHOLAR/)
SciFinder Scholar provides access to some of the major chemistry databases provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service. These include the main Chemical Abstracts database (CAPlus) as well as CASREACTS (reaction information) and the Registry file (information identifying various chemical substances). The software to use this database must be downloaded from the CAS website and loaded on the user's computer. For additional help in using the database the CAS Learning Center has a number of help materials.

·         Scitation
American Institute of Physics
scitation.aip.org/
Scitation is the electronic journal publishing platform of the AIP. It includes a database of citations to AIP publications (journals, conference proceedings, and standards) and links to the actual articles (which are available to subscribers). It also includes the references to all articles included in the database and links to the online versions of those publications. It covers all areas of physics and related sciences. About 600,000 articles are included in Scitation. Also linked to Scitation is the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database. In addition to AIP publications, it indexes materials from societies associated with the AIP. Scitation and SPIN can be searched simultaneously.

·         Web of Science
Thomson ISI (Institute for Scientific Information)
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/websci.html (isiknowledge.com)
The Web of Science covers journal articles in all subject areas, including materials science and engineering, chemistry, engineering, and related areas. The database has standard indexing for over 7,000 journals but also indexes the references for all articles from those journals. The references can be separately searched to find articles that have cited the same publications. The citation indexed literature covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and other forms of literature. Journal articles from 1945 to the present are covered. (Cited materials can be much older.) For additional information on how to automatically receive updated information from the database go here.

 

H. Stephen McMinn

Profile ImageStephen McMinn

Quote of the Day


Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50014-2140
Send Email

Subjects:
Engineering and Physical Sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait