Websites:
Remember - if this symbol appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.
Europa – The European Union Online – provides statistics on agriculture, environment, fisheries, public health, and transport (as well as many non-science categories) for countries that belong to the European Union.
How Everything Works – examining the physics of everyday life.
HowStuffWorks - clear, reliable explanations of how everything around us actually works.
IMechE Proceedings Archive – free full text conference proceedings from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (1847-1996) and the Institution of Automobile Engineers (1906-1947).
Information Bridge - Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
JSC Digital Image Collection - also referred to as the NASA Image Collection, this contains more than 9000 NASA press release photos spanning the American manned space program, from the Mercury program to the STS-79 Shuttle mission.
Kaye and Laby Online - the free online version of Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants. This is a searchable database of physical properties data such as densities of metals, thermochemical properties, etc.
MatDL - Materials science education resources.
MERLOT: Engineering – curriculum materials for higher education.
NASA Technical Reports Server – Provides public access to unlimited/unrestricted National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) reports and journal articles. Advanced searches include non-NASA archives. Links to free full text when available.
NSSN Document Search – search engine for databases of industry-approved, international-approved, and US-government-approved standards, as well as American National Standards. Search by title word, any word, document number, or developing organization. Page includes links to NSSN home page as well as other portions of the NSSN site. Contains links to free full text where available. TranStats – U.S. Bureau of Transportation statistics database – covers all modes of transportation and provides the ability to download results for use in spreadsheets or other reports.
TRIS online - From the U.S. Transportation Research Board. Links to free full text when available. Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet - Directory of websites with free MSDS links.
Librarian Profile |
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait