Websites:
Remember - if this symbol appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.
BEN: BiosciEdNet – biology education resources.
Biology Browser – free information on all types of organisms.
Country Health Profiles – from the Pan American Health Organization – health information for the Americas.
ESP: Electronic Scholarly Publishing – particularly of interest for history of science, genetics, computational biology, and genome research.
Free-Access Web Resources for Researchers, Students, Veterinarians, Pet Owners - from Iowa State University Veterinary Medical Library.
FreeForAll – is an international collaboration of libraries that provides free health science journal articles to patrons and librarians in developing and less-developed nations.
Globethics.net - This site focuses on applied ethics. Most of the journals are free, full-text but not all. Requires users to register - but no fee to register. Science areas include: bioethics, medical ethics, agricutural and environmental ethics.
Highwire Press Free Full-text Journals – currently provides access to 31 journals in a wide range of subject areas, but focuses mainly on medical journals.
Images from the History of Medicine – from the U.S. National Library of Medicine collection.
Intute: Health and Life Sciences – formerly known as BIOME – this site contains hand-selected and evaluated Internet resources for students, lecturers, researchers and practitioners in the health and life Sciences.
Intute: Veterinary – formerly Vetgate, contains hand-selected and evaluated Internet resources in animal health.
Libertas Academica - a collection of journals mostly in medical areas but also covers some life sciences areas.
MERLOT – curriculum materials for higher education. Contains separate sections for Biology and Health Sciences.
National Academies Press – reports issued by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the
National Nutrient Database – from the U.S.D.A.
NCBI Bookshelf – full-text biomedical books
Nonprofit Journals Group – collection of journals published by 17 nonprofit scientific societies and associations – focus is currently on agriculture, food, and biological sciences.
PoS – Proceedings of Science – was created in 2005 as a collection free full text conference proceedings in the areas of Astronomy, Biophysics, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics and Science Communication. Only contains a handful of conferences so far.
Public Library of Science – is non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Current journals include: PLoS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens.
PubMed Central – free archive of full text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
World Health Organization Publications – It is a bit difficult to tell this from their website, but WHO is willing to sell copies of their publications to anyone that would like a paper copy. They are also freely available on the website - mostly in PDF format.
World Health Organization Research Tools – statistics on world health.
Librarian Profile |
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait