Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web  Tags: free science sciences scientific full-text  

Resources that are freely accessible to researchers from anywhere in the world. No library affiliation or subscriptions are required to access the full text.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/freescientific  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Astronomy & Astrophysics             Print Page
  
 

Websites:

Remember - if this symbol  appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.

 

 Astronomical Almanac Online

 Extrasolar Planets Encyclopaedia – has basic information about planets that have been found outside the solar system and news about continuing research in this area.

 MERLOT: Astronomy – curriculum materials for higher education.

NASA Astrophysics Data System – ADS covers 4.3 million records - 300,000 are free full-text articles in astronomy and astrophysics. Most of the major astronomical journals are included. In many cases articles published in the current year are not available through ADS. 

 PoS – Proceedings of Science – was created in 2005 as a collection free full text conference proceedings in the areas of Astronomy, Biophysics, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics and Science Communication.  Only contains a handful of conferences so far.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database – contains information for about 2,750,000 astronomical objects (stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, novae and supernovae, etc.).  The only astronomical objects specifically excluded from SIMBAD are Solar System bodies (planets, satellites, asteroids, comets).   Provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliography, but no full text articles.

 

 

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait