Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web  Tags: free science sciences scientific full-text  

Resources that are freely accessible to researchers from anywhere in the world. No library affiliation or subscriptions are required to access the full text.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/freescientific  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals             Print Page
  
 

Journals

Remember - if this symbol  appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.

African Journals Online (AJOL) – access to African published research in over 200 scholarly peer-reviewed journals.  Table of contents and abstracts are freely available.  Links to online full text where available (currently provides full text articles for 70 journals).

 AgZines:  a Harvest of Free Agricultural Journals

 Copernicus Publications – provides free online access to a number of European journals in geosciences, high energy physics and radio science.

 Directory of Open Access Journals – free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.

FindArticles – Covers all subject areas, but particularly useful for computing, automotive, and some biology/botany.  Note the links to “search free articles.”

 FreeForAll – is an international collaboration of libraries that provides free health science journal articles to patrons and librarians in developing and less-developed nations.

 Gallica - digitized full-text journal articles and books dating from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century.

 Globethics.net - This site focuses on applied ethics.  Most of the journals are free, full-text but not all.  Requires users to register - but no fee to register.  Science areas include: bioethics, medical ethics, agricutural and environmental ethics.

 Highwire Press Free Full-text Journals – currently provides access to 31 journals in a wide range of subject areas, but focuses mainly on medical journals.

Institute of Physics journals – articles from the current 30 days are free full-text accessible.  You can either search by topic from the main page, or view all articles published in the last 30 days. 

 Libertas Academica - a collection of journals mostly in medical areas but also covers some life sciences areas.

 NARCIS – (formerly called DARE: Digital Academic Repositories) provides access to academic research output from digital repositories of 16 institutions in the Netherlands.

 Nonprofit Journals Group – collection of journals published by 17 nonprofit scientific societies and associations – focus is currently on agriculture, food, and biological sciences.

Open Science Directory - contains collections of Open Access Journals (e.g. Directory of Open Access Journals) and journals in the special programs (Hinari, Agora, OARE).  The Directory search itself is free as are many of the journals it covers; however, full-text in some collections is restricted to registered institutions.

 Public Library of Science – is non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.  Current journals include: PLoS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine and PLoS Pathogens.

 ScienceDaily - online magazine and Web portal devoted to science, technology, and medicine.

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait