Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web  Tags: free science sciences scientific full-text  

Resources that are freely accessible to researchers from anywhere in the world. No library affiliation or subscriptions are required to access the full text.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/freescientific  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  
 

Web-Accessible Books:

Remember - if this symbol  appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.

 Core Historical Literature of Agriculture – from the Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University

Digital Book Index – provides links to more than 105,000 title records from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. About 66,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.

 ESP: Electronic Scholarly Publishing – particularly of interest for history of science, genetics, computational biology, and genome research.

 HEARTH:  Home Economics Archive - Research, Tradition, History – from the Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University

 Illustrated Glossary of Geologic Terms – Fairly extensive glossary of terms in geology, some with links to color illustrations.

 Online Books Page – links to more than 20,000 English language books in various formats in a variety of subject areas, site hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library

 National Academies Press – reports issued by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council from 1996 to the present.  You can choose to purchase paper versions of the books, but they are also available free online.

 NCBI Bookshelf – full-text biomedical books

 NIST Chemistry WebBook – contains data for various chemicals.

 On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, by Charles Darwin

 University of Wisconsin Digital Collections – contains books and journals about research conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.  Particularly strong in Ecology and Natural Resources and the History of Science.

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait