Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Free Scientific Research Resources on the Web  Tags: free science sciences scientific full-text  

Resources that are freely accessible to researchers from anywhere in the world. No library affiliation or subscriptions are required to access the full text.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/freescientific  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Energy             Print Page
  
 

Websites:

Remember - if this symbol  appears next to an entry - everything in the site is free, full-text.
 

 Clean Coal Technology Compendium - U.S. Dept of Energy (DOE)

 Future of Coal - 2007 study from Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 Glossary of Nuclear Terms - from the European Nuclear Society, compiled by Winfred Koelzer.

 IEA Bioenergy - from the International Energy Agency.  Research is organized by task - each of the tasks has a website with further information and links to publications related to tasks.  The page of links provides an extensive listing of bioenergy projects worldwide and other IEA sites.

 Information Bridge - U.S. Dept. of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.

International Nuclear Information System (INIS) - contains information on over 3 million publications related to the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.  Approximately 850,000 of these have free full-text links.

 Renewable & Alternative Fuels - from the U.S. Energy Information Administration.  This website covers biomass, geothermal, hydro, solar, wind, and ethanol.  Some data is available in Microsoft Excel files.  Of particular note is the Historical Summary Data Back to 1949 files that are available in PDF, Excel, or HTML formats.

 Renewable Resource Data Center - from the U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory.  It provides access to an extensive collection of renewable energy resource data, maps, and tools. Biomass, geothermal, solar, and wind resource data for locations throughout the United States can be found through the RReDC.

 TransAtlas - interative mapping tool for locating alternative fuel resources in the U.S.  The alternative fuel types included on the map are: biodiesel, compressed or liquefied natural gas, ethanol (E85), electricity, hydrogen, and propane. Current and future refueling stations are included.

 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Electronic Reading Room - The NRC releases several hundred documents to the public each work day. The web site contains information and the documents that are most pertinent to NRC regulatory activities.  All public documents made available since November 1, 1999 are available in NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS), which is accessible from this web site.

 U.S. Wind Energy Projects - from the American Wind Energy Association.  This site provides a clickable map that allows you to look at individual U.S. states and lists all the currently existing and under construction wind farms.  It gives overall comparisons between states as well as individual data per wind farm: year online, power capacity, developer, owner, power purchaser, and turbine manufacturer.

 Wind Energy Resource Atlas of the United States - published by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in 1986, this gives estimates of wind energy potential in various geographic regions.  It does not provide information on wind farms.

 Wind Power in the United States: Technology, Economic, and Policy Issues - PDF version of a 2008 Congressional Research Service report prepared for Congress.

 Wind Power: Wind Turbines and Windfarms Database - one of the few resources to cover worldwide wind farms.  This site includes an extensive list of references - all free online.

 World Energy Outlook - This website makes it appear that purchase is required; however, you can view the 2008 edition for free online OR purchase it.  The most recent edition is only available to purchase in print while the previous edition is freely available online.

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait