Useful Links
- Amana Nature Trail
This site shows the trail location and provides some general information about points of interest along the trail. - Audubon Society – Iowa Chapter
This page provides very basic information on the state office in Des Moines, and the name of individual chapters around the state (with links to those with web pages). - Big Bluestem Audubon Society (Ames, IA)
This provides web access to newsletters, officers, and calendar of events for the Ames chapter. - Blank Park Zoo (Des Moines, IA)
This page provides zoo location, hours, admission fees, and list of current attractions. - DeSoto National Wildlife Refuge (Missouri Valley, IA)
From the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. - Doolittle Prairie (Story County, IA)
From Story County Conservation website - includes PDF map of the preserve. - Effigy Mounds National Monument (Harper’s Ferry, IA)
From the National Park Service. - Hayden, Ada
Ada Hayden was an avid conservationist who worked to have natural prairies in the state set aside as preserves. This page provides information about Hayden, links to related web pages, and images of Hayden. - Iowa Biodiversity Laws
Provides background information on biodiversity management in Iowa. - Iowa By Trail
This site contains information on 43 Iowa bike and water trails that you can search by name or location. - Iowa Department of Natural Resources
- Iowa Great Lakes
- Iowa Lakeside Laboratory
Located on West Lake Okoboji - mission is to provide students a hands-on experience working with Iowa’s natural and human environments through its field-oriented summer courses. - Iowa Natural Areas Inventory
The Inventory, based out of the Iowa DNR Conservation & Recreation Division, maintains a database about the status and distribution of threatened and endangered species of plants and animals, and natural communities, in Iowa. - Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation (Des Moines, IA)
This site provides information on land protection projects currently underway, information for land owners, news releases, and contains links to many of their publications which are online. - Iowa Prairie Network
IPN is an all volunteer, non-profit (501c3) organization started in 1990. Dedicated to the preservation of the prairie heritage in the state of Iowa. - Iowa State Fair (Des Moines, IA)
One of the oldest and largest agricultural expositions in the U.S., the Iowa State Fair is a salute to the state's best in agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement. - Iowa State Snowmobile Association
Site with guide to snowmobile trails and conditions in Iowa. - Iowa Wildlife Policy
Provides text from the Iowa Code concerning wildlife. - Iowa's Threatened and Endangered Species Program
- Iowa’s Wetlands and Riparian Areas
A sampling of the most credible articles available about wetlands and riparian areas in Iowa or, in some cases, the region. When possible, a text version of these articles is provided directly through this web site. - Ledges State Park (Madrid, IA)
One of Iowa’s most popular state parks. The web page provides a history and description of the park, recreational information, and a map of the area. - Living History Farms (Urbandale, IA)
Nationally recognized for its interpretation of the development of agriculture and provides excellent information on historically accurate plant species used by farmers. - Outdoor Labyrinths in Iowa
Article from January/February 2009 issue of The Iowan - with links and added information on each site. - Putnam Museum of History & Natural Science (Davenport, IA)
Founded in 1867, the Putnam was one of the first museums to be established west of the Mississippi and is home to over 130,000 artifacts and specimens. - Rails-to-Trails: Iowa
- Saylorville Lake
Located 7 miles north and slightly west of Des Moines. These pages contains lake facts (such as history of the lake, plant and animal identification, and fishing information), bike trail, and recreational information. - Science Center of Iowa (Des Moines, IA)
Dedicated to the goal of improving scientific literacy, inspiring scientific exploration through interactive education, exhibits, and programs. - Sierra Club (Iowa Chapter)
Provides information on the Des Moines office staff, links to other conservation and environmental sites, related Iowa groups, and Iowa events. - State Parks and Recreation Areas Directory
From the Iowa DNR. - Story County Conservation
Site provides information on board members, trails, public hunting areas, information and maps for each county park, roadside management and environmental education in Story County. - Union Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Titonka, IA)
- Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife & Fish Refuge (MacGregor, IA)
From the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. - Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge
This refuge is located in Jasper County, Iowa. It was created by an act of Congress in 1990 to re-create 8000 acres of tallgrass prairie and oak savanna, the native plant and animal communities existing in central Iowa prior to Euro-American settlement.
Librarian Profile |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait