Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Iowa-Related Science Resources  Tags: iowa science sciences  

Guide to little-known, hard to find links related to a wide range of scientific topics in Iowa.
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/iowascience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

History of Science             Print Page
  

Useful Links

  • Archives of Women in Science & Engineering  
      
  • Atanasoff, John V.  
      
    ISU Libraries’ Special Collections online exhibit. It provides a biography of Atanasoff, including the invention of the first digital computer by Atanasoff and Clifford E. Berry, and links to related web pages.
  • Berry, Clifford E.  
      
    Biographical information put together by Ames Laboratory. See also the above link to Atanasoff for related information.
  • Borlaug, Norman  
      
    1970 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate - pages from the Nobel Prize Internet Archive.
  • Carver, George Washington  
      
    ISU Libraries’ Special Collections online exhibit. It provides information about Carver, links to related web pages, and images of Carver.
  • Cow War  
      
    Contains highlights from a book written by Dorothy Schweider called "Iowa: The Middle Land." This page only provides a brief summary of the Cow War. Check the library catalog for the book and call number for further details.
  • Hayden, Ada  
      
    Ada Hayden was an avid conservationist who worked to have natural prairies in the state set aside as preserves. This page provides information about Hayden, links to related web pages, and images of Hayden.
  • Honey War  
      
    Border dispute, from 1839 to 1848, between Iowa and Missouri over wild honey gathering practices by early settlers.
  • Iowa Coal: Fuel for a New State’s Growth  
      
    Written by Mary R. Howes of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau. This page provides a history of coal mining in Iowa. Reprinted from Iowa Geology, 1992, no. 17.
  • Iowa Patents Database  
      
    This is a database of U.S. patents that were granted to Iowa residents from 1843-1974. It covers a WIDE variety of inventions. It can be searched by last name of inventor, city, title of patent, year, or patent number.
  • Living History Farms (Urbandale, IA)  
      
    Nationally recognized for its interpretation of the development of agriculture and provides excellent information on historically accurate plant species used by farmers.
  • Meteorites in Iowa’s History  
      
    Written by Raymond R. Anderson of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau. This page provides a history of known meteorites in Iowa. Reprinted from Iowa Geology, 1993, no. 18.
  • Putnam Museum of History & Natural Science (Davenport, IA)  
      
    Founded in 1867, the Putnam was one of the first museums to be established west of the Mississippi and is home to over 130,000 artifacts and specimens.
  • Van Allen, James  
      
    Iowan who discovered the famed "Van Allen Radiation Belt." This link goes to the biographical summary from the University of Iowa alumni pages.
 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait