Useful Links
- Abandoned Mined Land Reclamation
From the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship: Mines and Minerals Bureau. - Ames Laboratory
A U.S. Department of Energy laboratory operated by Iowa State University. - Antique Airplane Association & Airpower Museum (Blakesburg, IA)
Preserves and restores antique airplanes. - Dept of Energy - In Your State - Iowa
Provides links to the Iowa energy related materials from the USDOE. - Explore More: Genetic Engineering
From Iowa Public Television. - Explore More: The Future of Energy
From Iowa Public Television. - Facts Concerning the Consumption & Production of Electric Power in Iowa
Report published in 2003. - Facts Concerning the Natural Gas Industry & Its Regulatory Environment, Nationally and in Iowa
Report published in 2000. - Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities
- Iowa Coal: Fuel for a New State’s Growth
Written by Mary R. Howes of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau. This page provides a history of coal mining in Iowa. Reprinted from Iowa Geology, 1992, no. 17. - Iowa Electric Profile
From the Iowa Utilities Board - Iowa Energy Center (Ames, IA)
A research, demonstration and educational organization dedicated to increasing Iowa's energy efficiency and use of renewable fuels. - Iowa Engineering Society (Des Moines, IA)
A section of the National Society of Professional Engineers. - Iowa Inventions Database
This is a database of U.S. patents that were granted to Iowa residents from 1843-1974. It covers a WIDE variety of inventions. It can be searched by last name of inventor, city, title of patent, year, or patent number. - Iowa Waste Reduction Center (Cedar Falls, IA)
Helps small businesses comply with federal and state environmental regulations. - NASA Food Technology Commercial Space Center
Based out of ISU, the center leads a national effort in developing foods and food-processing technologies that enhance space missions and advance commercial food products. - Nuclear Power Plants Finder
This is a combination of information from the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the American Nuclear Society. Clickable map - pick a state and find power plants. - Superfund Sites in Iowa
Provides information about National Priorities List sites in Iowa, including site location by county, name that links to the site Fact Sheet, CERCLIS ID that links to the site narrative, and dates of listing actions that link to Federal Register notices. - Wind Energy
Excellent collection of information on Iowa wind energy compiled by the Iowa Renewable Energy Association. - Wind Energy in Iowa
Provides links to Iowa Wind Maps, Iowa Ground Cover Map, a wind assessment and calculator, and information on how a wind farm works. - Wind Energy Projects - Iowa
This site lists all the currently existing wind farms, year online, power capacity, developer, owner, power purchaser, and turbine manufacturer.
Librarian Profile |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait