Useful Links
- Ames Area Amateur Astronomers
Contains lengthy descriptions of club activities, officers, and area observatories. Also provides links to other astronomy resources. - Ames Lab/ISU Science Bowl (Ames, IA)
The winning team receives a trophy as well as an all-expenses-paid trip to the National Science Bowl® to compete against other schools from around the nation. - Ames Laboratory
A U.S. Department of Energy laboratory operated by Iowa State University. - Archives of Women in Science & Engineering
Founded in 1994 by the Special Collections Department, Iowa State University Libraries. - Atanasoff, John V.
ISU Libraries’ Special Collections online exhibit. It provides a biography of Atanasoff, including the invention of the first digital computer by Atanasoff and Clifford E. Berry, and links to related web pages. - Berry, Clifford E.
Biographical information put together by Ames Laboratory. See also the above link to Atanasoff for related information. - Big Bluestem Audubon Society (Ames, IA)
This provides web access to newsletters, officers, and calendar of events for the Ames chapter. - Carver, George Washington
ISU Libraries’ Special Collections online exhibit. It provides information about Carver, links to related web pages, and images of Carver. - Center for Agricultural and Rural Development (CARD)
Based out of Iowa State University, the Center implements broad-based research on resources and environmental policy, agricultural trade policy, food and nutrition policy and rural and economic development policy. - Doolittle Prairie (Story County, IA)
From Story County Conservation website - includes PDF map of the preserve. - Iowa Beef Center (Ames, IA)
The Center serves as the central access point for ISU programs related to cattle production and the beef industry. - Iowa Energy Center (Ames, IA)
A research, demonstration and educational organization dedicated to increasing Iowa's energy efficiency and use of renewable fuels. - Iowa Insect Information Notes
Published by the ISU Entomology Department, this page provides descriptions of the most frequent Iowa insect problems. - Iowa Pork Industry Center (Ames, IA)
The center focuses on programs for pork producers and the public that deal with education, field problem solving, demonstration and consumer issues. - Ledges State Park (Madrid, IA)
One of Iowa’s most popular state parks. The web page provides a history and description of the park, recreational information, and a map of the area. - Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture
The Center, based out of ISU, was created to conduct research on the environmental & socioeconomic impacts of farming practices and to help develop profitable farming systems that preserve natural resources and the environment. - Mary Greeley Medical Center (Ames, IA)
Hospital website. - Midwest Agribusiness Trade Research and Information Center (MATRIC)
Based out of ISU, MATRIC provides assistance to U.S. businesses in developing and expanding international markets for agricultural products and services. - NASA Food Technology Commercial Space Center
Based out of ISU, the center leads a national effort in developing foods and food-processing technologies that enhance space missions and advance commercial food products. - Red Feather Prairie
The original site for the Saylorville Dam. - Reiman Gardens (Ames, IA)
Provides a history and description of the gardens, a virtual tour, and listing of garden activities. - Saylorville Lake
Located 7 miles north and slightly west of Des Moines. These pages contains lake facts (such as history of the lake, plant and animal identification, and fishing information), bike trail, and recreational information. - Story County Conservation
Site provides information on board members, trails, public hunting areas, information and maps for each county park, roadside management and environmental education in Story County.
Librarian Profile |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait