Useful Links
- @griculture Online

Created by the editors of Successful Farming magazine in Des Moines. It is a community of agriculturalists and provides the latest information in Ag news, weather, markets, and new technology. - AgNIC Swine Page

Iowa State University Libraries’ contribution to the Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC) project coordinated by the National Agricultural Library, USDA. - Borlaug, Norman
1970 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate - pages from the Nobel Prize Internet Archive. - Center for Agricultural and Rural Development (CARD)
Based out of Iowa State University, the Center implements broad-based research on resources and environmental policy, agricultural trade policy, food and nutrition policy and rural and economic development policy. - Cow War
Contains highlights from a book written by Dorothy Schweider called "Iowa: The Middle Land." This page only provides a brief summary of the Cow War. Check the library catalog for the book and call number for further details. - Gardens and Arboreta of Iowa
Reprinted from Horticulture & Home Pest News, June 21, 1996, p. 107, this page describes five popular botanical locations in Iowa. - Horticulture Lectures by Joseph L. Budd, 1897-1898
Scanned handwritten text of lectures he wrote in 1897-1898 on topics such as fruits, vegetables, trees, shrubs, and flowers. - Identification of Common Trees of Iowa
This has an interactive key to permit the user to identify common Iowa trees through a series of selections relating only the leaves and branches. Sketches and images of tree characteristics aid in making each choice. - Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management
A program aimed at preserving, planting, and maintaining vegetation along Iowa's roadsides. - Iowa 4-H Camps
Provides links to camp maps, registration and schedules for the current year. - Iowa 4-H Foundation
This group exists to assist Iowa's youth in becoming productive, self-directed, contributing members of society. The web page lists address, hours and staff of the foundation. - Iowa Agricultural Statistics Service
Links to Iowa-specific statistics via the U.S. Department of Agriculture. - Iowa Agriculture Census
Searchable information from 1982, 1987, and 1992 Census of Agriculture for Iowa. - Iowa Beef Center (Ames, IA)
The Center serves as the central access point for ISU programs related to cattle production and the beef industry. - Iowa Corn Promotion Board
- Iowa Farmer Today Online (Cedar Rapids, IA)
Weekly newspaper. - Iowa Grain Quality Initiative
Aimed at increasing the value of Iowa grain. - Iowa Pork Industry Center (Ames, IA)
The center focuses on programs for pork producers and the public that deal with education, field problem solving, demonstration and consumer issues. - Iowa Soybean Association
- Iowa State University Extension
- Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture
The Center aims to conduct research on the environmental and socioeconomic impacts of farming practices and to help develop profitable farming systems that preserve the productivity and quality of natural resources and the environment. - Midwest Agribusiness Trade Research and Information Center (MATRIC)
MATRIC provides assistance to U.S. businesses in developing and expanding international markets for agricultural products and services by providing current market and policy research and access to prospective trade and investment partners. - Reiman Gardens (Ames, IA)
Website provides a history and description of the gardens, a virtual tour, and listing of garden activities. - Species Abstracts of Highly Disruptive Exotic Plants
Put together by the Northern Prairie Wildlife Resource Center.
Librarian Profile |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait