Resources for computer science students.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013
These links will help you to be more effective and ethical in your research and writing:
Research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to computer science.
- Computer Science Index
Covers academic journal articles, professional publications, and other reference sources in computer science at a scholarly/technical level. The collection indexes more than 6,500 periodicals and books, with material back to the 1960s.
- CSA Technology Research Database
- Guide to Computing Literature
Digital Library searches include only ACM publications by default - click Expand your search to The ACM Guide to Computing Literature to broaden the search to include the entire database. Covers works from major publishers in computing. Includes full text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM Digital Library), with some material dating back to the 1950s.
- Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
Coverage includes mass-market computer publications and more specialized publications focusing on hardware platforms, operating systems, the Internet, management, networking, electronic publishing, etc. Coverage 1980 to present.
- IEEE Xplore (IEL)
Full-text online access to publications of the IEEE and the IET. Content includes journal and magazine articles, conference papers, standards, and books, and includes IEEE Computer Society publications.
The American Mathematical Society's easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Coverage from 1940-present, over 2 million records.
- Springer e-Books
Books accessible to ISU include the Computer Science collection and Professional & Applied Computing collection. Off-campus login available.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
EBSCO's eBook Collection hosts many of ISU's available e-books on a variety of topics. Select "Computer Science" from the facets at the left side of the page.
- Safari Tech Books
The Safari collection provides many titles on computing, including many titles for specific programming languages, applications, and platforms.
Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus. Off-campus access requires an ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact firstname.lastname@example.org) See also our DL Guide.