Search Tips
VCS 402: Clinical Cardiology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

VM-4 Resources 

This guide contains links to resources useful to fourth-year students in veterinary medicine.
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/vm4  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Search Tips             Print Page
  
 

The Basics

CAB Abstracts and PubMed will be the most useful databases.

Before you begin your search:

  1. Think before you search.
  2. Break your topic into concepts.
  3. Think about your keywords, synonyms, alternate spellings, and write down possible search terms.

 

 
 

CAB Abstracts

CAB Abstracts is the most comprehensive database for veterinary medicine, animal science, and agriculture. CAB Abstracts indexes many U.S. and international publications, conference proceedings, and book chapters. The coverage is from 1910 to the present. Watch the short videos for an introduction to searching CAB Abstracts.

Quick Tips

  1. Can use Boolean operators: and, or, not. For example, (cats or dogs) and diabetes (Note: The Boolean operators do not need to be capitalized.)
  2. Use quotation marks if you're searching for an exact phrase, "animal behaviour".
  3. Sometimes it can be helpful to truncate a search term. Use the asterisk. For example, cataract* will retrieve records with the following words:
    • cataracts
    • cataractogenesis
    • cataractous
  4. Because CAB Abstracts is produced in the UK, include British and American spellings (e.g. leukaemia, odour, oestrogens, haematology).
  5. After you've done a search, you might choose to "refine" or "limit" your search (e.g. English-only articles). The "refinements" are on the left-hand side of the results screen.
  6. Pay attention to the descriptors that are found in the citation record. Use the descriptors as search terms.

The following 2 videos demonstrate a search. The topic is canine zinc toxicosis. The videos have sound, so make sure to turn the volume up.

Video 1 (1.1 minutes)

Video 2 (4.2 minutes)

 

PubMed

PubMed indexes the health sciences/life sciences literature. It also indexes approximately 101 veterinary medicine journals. The coverage is from the 1950s to the present. Watch the short video for an introduction to searching PubMed

Quick Tips

  1. Link to PubMed via the library website for "Get it@ISU" linkage.
  2. Capitalize Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
  3. Use "Limits" if appropriate (e.g. timeframe, language, etc.).
  4. Remember to identify synonyms for the concepts in your search statement. You may use abbreviations and complete disease names as search terms. For example, (RSV OR respiratory syncytial virus) AND (sheep OR lambs).

The following video demonstrates a search in PubMed; the topic is canine hip dysplasia. The video has sound so make sure to turn the volume up.

Searching PubMed (4.19 minutes)

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Dinkelman, Assistant Professor
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait