Veterinary Medicine Journals
These are just a few of the veterinary medicine journals available online from the ISU Library:
- American Journal of Veterinary Research
- Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
- Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine
- Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care
Check the e-journals list for additional journals. If you don't find what you need, check the library catalog to see what journals are available in print. When searching the library catalog for journals, be sure to search by "Serial Title (journals, etc)."
Article Databases
Use the following resources to locate journal literature on your topic. The most useful resources for veterinary medicine are listed below:
- CAB Abstracts
Comprehensive database that covers: agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; human health, food and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; plant sciences. It is the most comprehensive database for veterinary medicine and agriculture. Includes many international publications. Coverage: 1910 - present. Check out the Search Guide (6 page PDF). - PubMed
Provides access to human and veterinary medicine journals and many other life sciences journals. The Guide to PubMed for Veterinarians (PDF) provides search tips and and a list of the veterinary medicine journals indexed in PubMed. Coverage: 1950s - present - CONSULTANT
Covers 7,000 diseases of 8 species. Avian is the only exotic covered. Provided by the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine.
How to search CONSULTANT, http://www.lib.utk.edu/agvet/veterinary/Consultant.pdf - VIN (Veterinary Information Network)
Provides access to the veterinary literature via the Search function plus: message boards, conference proceedings, Plumb's, Veterinary Partner for clients, and more. Note: VIN contains limited full-text journal articles. When you find citations in VIN, check the ISU e-journals list and/or the Library catalog to see if ISU has the journal. - Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-). Search by keyword or cited reference. A cited reference search will show you who has cited the article since it was published. Check out the Cited Reference Searching tutorial.
Additional Resources:
- AGRICOLA - Covers agricultural economics, animal culture and welfare, biotechnology, human ecology, soil science, and veterinary medicine. AGRICOLA indexes articles, books, theses and patents dated 1970 to the present. Produced by the National Agricultural Library. Coverage: 1970 - present.
- Biosis Previews - Covers virtually every life science discipline: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology. Coverage: 1926 - present.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide - Covers wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, from 1935 and earlier to present. Coverage includes wildlife behavior and management, studies of individual species, habitat, economics, hunting, parasites, and diseases. Coverage: 1935 - present.
- TOXNET - Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program, National Library of Medicine. A cluster of databases on toxicology data and literature (including TOXLINE) and hazardous chemicals.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait