Tips Table for Resource Searching
|
Resource Name & Link |
Hot button name |
Search within Ref Lists? |
Search within full-text? |
Special Notes |
|
ABI Inform |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use Advanced Search and change default setting to search Citation and Document Text. |
Type in author lastname, firstname for best results. |
|
Amazon.com |
Search inside this book |
Not specifically. |
No longer works. |
Amazon appears to have recently disabled this search feature. |
|
Annual Review of...series |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search within “full text” |
Search button in top middle of page. |
|
Blackwell-Synergy journals |
n/a |
Use Advanced Search page option for “citation author” |
Full text search does not search reference lists. |
Difficult to narrow down to a specific citation if author name is common. |
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
|
CrossRef |
n/a |
Yes |
Yes |
Google-like search so use + in front of terms to ensure they are included in results |
|
EconPapers |
n/a |
No, but ref lists are available for some items. |
Yes |
Cited refs shown on abstract pages. |
|
Emerald journals (management, information science) |
n/a |
Use Advanced Search page – “all fields” |
Yes. Advanced Search will find references in full text using the “all fields” search. |
|
|
ERIC (education) |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
European Research Papers Archive |
No |
No |
No |
|
|
Extenza journals |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes. |
Full text search option appears to be searching references but is actually pulling up occurrences in the body of the article. |
|
Gigablast |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes |
Will find refs in Word, Excel, PDF, etc. |
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes. Recommend combination of author name and some keywords from the title. |
May have misleading results. No guarantee author name will be near keywords. |
|
|
Google Scholar |
n/a |
Not spcifically |
Yes |
Recommend searching with author name inverted as well as non-inverted. |
|
Cited References (top of screen) |
n/a |
n/a |
|
|
|
N/A |
No |
No |
References and cited refs shown on abstract pages. |
|
|
JSTOR |
n/a |
Advanced search within full text will pull up author names in references. |
Advanced search within full text will pull up author names in references. |
|
|
LGBT Life |
Cited References (top of screen) |
n/a |
n/a |
|
|
Cited References (top of screen) |
n/a |
n/a |
|
|
|
NetLibrary |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search in full text will pull up occurrences in references. |
To access NetLibrary for the first time, you need to create an account from a workstation WITHIN the library. |
|
PsycInfo |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
ScienceDirect journals |
“Cited By” |
Advanced Search has option for searching within References. |
Yes. |
In results list, clicking on SummaryPlus or FullText + Links will show references. |
|
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) |
"Cited by" in abstract BETA Lab view |
No |
No |
Author profile includes citations in the BETA view. Registration required. |
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
|
Web of Science |
Use Cited Ref Search. |
Use Cited Ref Search. |
n/a |
Not possible to search references using title words. |
|
Working Paper Cites of Political Science Scholars (multidisciplinary) |
No |
No |
No |
Includes History, Politics and Sociology |
Librarian Profile |
Associate Professor
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: (515) 294-2408
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Cited Reference Searching
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait