Comparison Articles
Falagas, Matthew E., Eleni I. Pitsouni, George A. Malietzis, and Georgios Pappas. 2008. "Comparison of PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar: Strengths and Weaknesses." FASEB Journal, v. 22, pp. 338-342. Available free on the web at: http://www.fasebj.org/cgi/content/full/22/2/338
Tips Table for Resource Searching
|
Resource Name & Link |
Hot button name |
Search within Ref Lists? |
Search within full-text? |
Special Notes |
|
ACM Digital Library |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Advanced search defaults to searching all information. |
Allows you to see references and also “citings” within ACM Digital. |
|
Amazon.com |
Search inside this book |
Not specifically. |
No longer works. |
Amazon appears to have recently disabled this search feature. |
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search “anywhere in the article” |
|
|
|
Annual Review of...series |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search within “full text” |
Search button in top middle of page. |
|
ASABE Technical Library |
n/a |
Yes. |
“find words anywhere” is more effective than searching within references. |
Will not search through PDF – only HTML. Not possible to search refs in pre-2001 articles. |
|
Blackwell-Synergy journals |
n/a |
Use Advanced Search page option for “citation author” |
Full text search does not search reference lists. |
Difficult to narrow down to a specific citation if author name is common. |
|
Citebase |
n/a |
Not specifically. |
Yes |
Experimental!! Read the Help page for search details |
|
CiteSeer (computer & information science) |
Citations |
Yes |
Yes |
|
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
|
CrossRef |
n/a |
Yes |
Yes |
Google-like search so use + in front of terms to ensure they are included in results |
|
Emerald journals (engineering, applied science) |
n/a |
Use Advanced Search page – “all fields” |
Yes. Advanced Search will find references in full text using the “all fields” search. |
|
|
Extenza journals (all disciplines) |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes. |
Full text search option appears to be searching references but is actually pulling up occurrences in the body of the article. |
|
Gigablast |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes |
Will find refs in Word, Excel, PDF, etc. |
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Yes. Recommend combination of author name and some keywords from the title. |
May have misleading results. No guarantee author name will be near keywords. |
|
|
Google Scholar |
n/a |
Not specifically |
Yes |
Recommend searching with author name inverted as well as non-inverted. |
|
Highwire Press journals |
“Articles citing this article” |
Yes. |
Yes. |
Author search pulls up articles BY an author as well as any time that author name shows up in a list of references in Highwire. |
|
IEEE Xplore (electrical engineering) |
|
Will show references but does not appear to have option to restrict search to just references. |
Use Advanced Search and change to search within “full text & all fields” |
Clicking on “abstracts plus” will show “citing documents” within IEEE. Not available on pre-1995 articles. |
|
n/a |
Will show references but does not appear to have option to restrict search to just references. |
Search within full text will search only PDF files. |
|
|
|
JSTOR |
n/a |
Advanced search within full text will pull up author names in references. |
Advanced search within full text will pull up author names in references. |
|
|
Author citations |
Author Citations Tab |
n/a |
In results list, can also click on PDF to see if it has been cited by others in MathSciNet. |
|
|
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use “find anywhere” |
|
|
|
Nature Journals Online |
n/a |
Will show references but does not appear to have option to restrict search to just references. |
Searching full text will pull up names anywhere – including in the list of references. |
Full text articles contain a hotlink to Web of Science records for cited ref info. |
|
NetLibrary (electronic books in many subject areas) |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search in full text will pull up occurrences in references. |
To access NetLibrary for the first time, you need to create an account from a workstation WITHIN the library. |
|
PubMed |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Search for a particular article in the database. Then, click box next to the article on the results page. Look for “Display” near top of page and use drop-down box to change display to “cited in PMC” |
|
|
ScienceDirect journals |
“Cited By” |
Advanced Search has option for searching within References. |
Yes. |
In results list, clicking on SummaryPlus or FullText + Links will show references. |
|
SciFinder Scholar |
Offers options for Cited References and also Citing References using the “Get Related” button. |
Not possible. |
Locate a specific article using a topic or author search – and look at full record – look for Get Related button. |
Cited references will only retrieve the ones indexed in SciFinder. |
|
SpringerLink journals |
n/a |
Not possible. |
Use search box for “all text” |
All text search will pull up names in references if the article is available full text online. |
|
Use Cited Ref Search. |
Use Cited Ref Search. |
n/a |
Not possible to search references using title words. |
Librarian Profile |
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science & technology reference tools
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait