Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
Manufacturing Engineering Transactions – published from 1980-1985 contains two sections. The beginning of the volume contains technical papers and the remainder of each volume consists of full text conference papers from the NAMRC.
North American Metalworking Research Conference – from 1977-79 full text of all papers from these conferences were published as a separate section of Manufacturing Engineering Transactions. Earlier proceedings (1st-4th held in 1973-1976) were sponsored by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and were issued separately as books.
North American Manufacturing Research Conference – from 1980-1985 full text of all papers from these conference were published as a separate section of Manufacturing Engineering Transactions; from 1986-1987 the cover title on the proceedings was Manufacturing Technology Review, but volumes also mentioned the conference name. In 1988, it became a separate volume called 16th North American Manufacturing Research Conference Proceedings. Starting with the 17th, 1989, it became Transactions of the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SME and continues to publish full text of all papers from the NAMRC.
SME Technical Digest – 1969-1974 when title changed to Technical Digest – these are abstracts of technical papers available in the microfiche collection.
Technical Paper – a series of research papers that were made available full text on microfiche starting in 1965 and currently continue to be produced in this format.
Transactions, the best papers of... – was a short-lived series from 1987-1989 and, like it sounds, only contained a portion of the best papers for that particular year.
The NAMRC conference papers are different publications from the technical papers – together they represent the entire field of manufacturing engineering research...which is why they are referred to as “companion publications.”
Papers are searchable from the Publications page of the SME website.
Librarian Profile |
![]() |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait