Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

How to Locate Conference Proceedings  Tags: proceedings symposia conferences preprints meetings transactions papers abstracts symposium engineering association science scientific  

Techniques for locating conference papers and journal articles that were based on conference presentations.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/proceedings  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ACS             Print Page
  
 

American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society provides many of their conference papers to members, but they can be difficult to locate by non-members.  They publish both abstracts and preprints that are completely different publications.  Prior to each national meeting, many ACS divisions send their members either abstracts or preprints of papers to be presented during their portion of the meeting program.  Individual ACS divisions publish a heavily cited series called Preprints of Papers, while the main body of ACS publishes a Book of Abstracts.  The Book of Abstracts contains abstracts of papers from all divisions and secretariats as well as from the committees that organize technical programming.  ACS also distributes something they call Abstract Separates which are abstracts of a single division, printed separately from the Book of Abstracts.  Division members in good standing are mailed their preferred Abstract Separates prior to national meetings as a member benefit.  The ACS division preprints are not the full text of the papers that are intended to be presented – they are usually 2-4 pages in length and consist of a summary, the data, figures, nomenclature, and references.  Preprints (for recent years) are available to members on the ACS website.  If you have a citation to the ACS Book of Abstracts, you may be able to locate some additional information by looking to see which division sponsored the presentation and tracking down the preprints from that division.  Some (but definitely not all) symposia have been organized and published by ACS Books or other commercial publishers. Technical Programming Archive of Past National Meetings (2004-onwards) is available online and is browsable for particular papers.  ACS maintains a website of Programming Policies and Procedures which can also be helpful for tracking down specific ACS publications.


Abstract Separates
are abstracts of a single division.


Book of Abstracts
contains abstracts of papers from all divisions and secretariats as well as from the committees that organize technical programming. 


Preprints of Papers
are not the full text of the papers that are intended to be presented – they are usually 2-4 pages in length and consist of a summary, the data, figures, nomenclature, and references.  Preprints (for recent years) are available to members on the ACS website
Some (but definitely not all) symposia have been organized and published by ACS Books or other commercial publishers.

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageLorrie Pellack


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

phone: (515) 294-5569
Send Email

Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Studies, Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, general science and technology reference tools, industry standards

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait