This is the "Home" page of the "American Indian Studies: In-Depth Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Iowa State University

American Indian Studies: In-Depth Resources   Tags: american_indians, articles, bibliography, in-depth, native_americans, websites  

Selected indexes, websites, e-journals and news sources in American Indian Studies; in-depth resources
Last Updated: May 23, 2013 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/content.php?pid=3184 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus. Off-campus access requires an ISU Borrower ID (last 11 digits of your ISUCard) and password.  See Set your Library password for more information. 

ISU Distance Education students & instructors, please see our Distance Learning page, our fuller DL Guide, and the ISU DE website's New Student Information (pdf) for more specifics about off-campus access and getting your ISUCard number.

 

Finding Articles

Indexes & Abstracts

Bibliography of Native North Americans (ISU only)
This database provides bibliographic citations to journal articles, reports, documents and books pertaining to North American Indians. Areas of focus include anthropology, archaeology, history and cultures.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ISU only)
Full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though periodicals from many other minority groups are also included. Also includes a publisher's directory, circulation figures, advertising rates, and histories of individual newspapers. In English and Spanish. Coverage is from 1995 to the present, with retrospective indexing and full text for some publications dating back to 1985. Updated monthly.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (ISU only)
HAPI Online is an international periodical index providing access to authoritative information and social sciences and humanities research on Latin America, focusing on fields such as anthropology, Latin American Indians and indigenous issues from all time periods, politics and government, foreign relations, business and industry, African diaspora issues, gender studies, history, art, literature, film, environmental issues, and social movements. Some coverage of US Latino journals is also included. HAPI Online contains bibliographic citations to articles, reviews, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more that 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Most articles are in Spanish, English, or Portuguese; coverage is 1970-present.

 

Selected List of American Indian Online Journals & News Sources

American Indian Quarterly (ISU only)
One of the major research journals in American Indian studies. Current (2000-present) issues are available online via Project MUSE. Older issues (1974-present) are available in Parks Library under call number: E75 A547.

Cherokee Observer
Online version of the newspaper, that bills itself as the "only independent Cherokee newspaper." Includes news articles (both current and archived issues), plus sections on language, and many community resources.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ISU only)
Full-text articles from numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though periodicals from many other minority groups are also included. Also includes a publisher's directory, circulation figures, advertising rates, and histories of individual newspapers. In English and Spanish. Coverage is from 1995 to the present, with retrospective indexing and full text for some publications dating back to 1985. Updated monthly.

Ethnohistory (ISU only)
Important research journal in the subject area of anthropology and history. Strong focus on American Indian cultures. Back issues (1954-99, plus links to current issues dating 2000-04) of this journal are available in J-Stor. Print copies of the journal are available in Parks Library under call number: E51 Et38. Some current issues (1994-2004 only) are also available online via Project MUSE.

Indian Country Today
Online version of "America's Largest Indian Newspaper," with headline news, news from the Nations, and regular features such as arts & entertainment and editorials. Archived back issues are included.

Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) (ISU only)
One of the major literary research journals in American Indian studies. Current (2004-present) issues are available online via Project MUSE. Older issues (1995-present) are available in Parks Library under call number: PM151 S78x.

Wicazo Sa Review (ISU only)
Important research journal in American Indian studies, focusing on history, culture, and contemporary issues. Current (2000-present) issues are available online via Project MUSE. Older issues (1995-present) are available in Parks Library under call number: E96 W5.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Susan A. Vega GarcĂ­a
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052
savega@iastate.edu
Send Email
Ask Us!:
IM, email, or phone
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip