Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latino Studies Web Bibliography  Tags: latino_studies latino latina websites articles chicano chicana puerto_rican boricua cuban_american salvadoran dominican web bibliography  

Selected indexes, e-journals and websites in Latino Studies
Last update: Nov 20th, 2008 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/content.php?pid=3126  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Related Quick Links @ ISU

 

Tell Me What You Think!

Was this bibliography helpful to you?  Please answer the poll or leave a comment!
Yes! I like it!
I'm just looking around...
Could be better if ... (please leave a comment!)

 
 

Finding Articles

Indexes and Abstracts (to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles)

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) (ISU only)
Your best choice for finding Latino & Latin American journal articles! This database focuses on Latin American issues, but increasingly includes significant US Latino content. A useful feature in the HAPI interface allows searches to be restricted to "Hispanics in the US" only. The index provides citations to research articles published worldwide about US Latinos and Latin American issues in the social sciences and humanities. Much broader in scope and much more current than the Chicano Database, HAPI provides strong coverage of Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban American, and other US Latino groups. Some full-text may be available for selected publications. Articles are in Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, and other languages.

Chicano Database (ISU only)
This index provides citations to Chicano / Mexican American articles appearing in research journals, magazines, and a great number of rare, ephemeral but important publications from the 1960s era that document the Chicano experience. Because many of these publications are simply not available in most libraries, you may wish to plan ahead and use Interlibrary Loan when using this database. Also includes citations to recent books in Latino studies. Although some content on other Latino groups is included, the database focuses on Mexican American content.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ISU only)
Unique and versatile database provides full-text articles, editorials, and features from scores of current Latino newspapers, news magazines, and some journals. Many articles are in Spanish; the database also provides a Spanish-language search interface. Publications from many other US ethnic and minority groups are also included, along with a publishers' directory, circulation figures, advertising rates, and histories of individual publications. Coverage is 1994-present, with some retrospective coverage dating back to 1985. Latino publications in the database include: El Bohemio News (San Francisco), El Diario / La Prensa (New York), El Nuevo Herald (Miami), Hispanic Magazine, and many other newspapers and magazines.

Informe (ISU only)
Spanish-language full text periodical index; provides coverage of subjects ranging from the humanities, social sciences, technology, and the sciences, plus current events. Articles are in Spanish only. Coverage is 1994-present.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSusan A. Vega GarcĂ­a


Contact Info:
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
Race & Ethnic Studies Bibliographer
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
savega@iastate.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Information literacy, African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian American Studies, Latino Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait