This is the "Getting Started" page of the "African & African American Studies: In-Depth Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Iowa State University

African & African American Studies: In-Depth Resources   Tags: african, african_american, articles, bibliography, in-depth, websites  

Selected indexes, e-journals & websites in African & African American studies; in-depth resources
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/content.php?pid=3121 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

Most of our indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password.  See Set your Library password for more information. 

Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus.  Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number.  Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact distance@iastate.edu)  See also our DL Guide

Information Literacy Guides

Find Articles

The items listed here are basic research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to African American studies.

  • Black Studies Center (BSC)  
      
    Start here! Includes important African American studies research tools and primary sources. Find full-text journal articles using the "Journals" section of BSC. Also includes the Chicago Defender full-text, and scholarly essays commissioned by the Schomburg Center.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full-text articles from U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, news magazines, and some journals. African American sources are the strength of this database.
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
    Includes Frederick Douglass' Paper, Freedom's Journal, the Colored American / Weekly Advocate, The National Era, The North Star, and other important historical newspapers.
  • Biography In Context
    Check here first if you're looking for biographical info! There are many excellent African American biography reference tools available in print, many of which have been incorporated into Biography in Context for easy online searching.
 

Other Sources

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (REF E185 .544 2006)
Authoritative signed essays profile individuals, regional histories, academic disciplines, and a fascinating range of cultural and historical topics. Roughly two-thirds of all entries in this indispensable six-volume set are biographical. There's also an online version of the encyclopedia, which can be very useful for quick searching, but note that some photographs and illustrations from the print version may not be included.

There are many, many reference books in our collections on African American topics - you can find them easily by searching Quick Search. Here are just a few favorites:

  • 100 Greatest African Americans (REF E185.96 A83 2002)
  • African American Literature (REF PS153 N5 G73 2005)
  • African American Newspapers & Periodicals: A National Bibliography (REF PN4882.5 A11 A475x 1998)
  • Africana: Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (REF DT14 A37435 2005)
  • Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration (REF E185.6 E54 2006)
  • Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion (REF PS153 N5 H245 2003)

 

A Few Important Journals Online

Not all African American studies journals are available online; many important titles remain in print only!  To find the Library's print and electronic journals relevant to African American Studies, search Quick Search.  You can also use Journals A-Z to locate many more African American & African studies online journals and magazines.

  • African American Review
    Full-text and complete back issues to this important literary criticism journal, including articles, reviews, editorials, individual poems, etc. Coverage includes 1967-96 (some under previous titles).
  • Callaloo
    Online full-text current articles (1995-present) of this important literary and arts research journal.
  • Callaloo
    Back years (1976-89, and 1990-94) of this important journal, available via JStor.
  • Journal of Black Studies
    Complete full-text facsimiles of this important core journal in African American and African studies. Coverage is 1970-1996; includes powerful search engine. From J-Stor.
  • Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
    Complete online full-text, 1993-1997. Includes powerful search engine; from JStor.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Susan A. Vega García
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052
savega@iastate.edu
Send Email
Ask Us!:
IM, email, or phone
 

Connect!

ISU Lib Facebook    Twitter

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip