Guide to Federal and state information sources
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014
Indexes to U.S. Government Publications
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
This site is not intended to be either exhaustive or extensive. It is only intended to be a start by leading the user to a couple of key sites which will lead to other international intergovernmental organization (IGO) sites, and provide direct access to IGO sites which are of greatest interest to Iowa State University.
KEY ACCESS POINTS TO IGO SITES
- Northwestern University Library
Provides a large number of links to a high number of sites, including small international governmental organizations to large IGOs, from organizations such as the Arab Satellite Communications Organization to organizations such as the United Nations.
- United Nations
Provides references and in some cases full text to current documentation of the UN. Also has links to a host of IGOs. Some of the files are fee based, e.g. treaties and the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. One useful database for the busy reference desk is UNIQUE, a ready reference file created by the Dag Hammerskjold Library for frequently received queries.
SIGNIFICANT IGO SITES
- FAO: Food and Agriculture Organizations of the United Nations
Though the site includes many full text reports, the most impressive feature is FAOSTAT, an on-line and multilingual database containing over 1 million time series records. One can extract selected data with options on table construction, aggregation, and methods of calculation.
- IFC: International Finance Corporation
The Emerging Markets Data Base could be useful to persons in international business and finance.
- IMF - International Monetary Fund
Among the many full text titles provided one finds all of Working Papers and Papers on Policy Analysis and Assessment beginning with 1997.
- International Labour Organization
Many of the titles cited are full text on-line. A search engine is provided. Some ILO databases of interest on the site are:
ILODOC - Documents and publications of ILO since 1919.
ILOLEX - International labor standards with sophisticated search software.
NATLEX - National labor laws.
- WHO - World Health Organization
Well known titles in full text on this site include Weekly Epidemiology Record, International Classification of Diseases, and International Travel and Health. Many of WHO's major documents are in full text. Access is provided by general topic or disease, including veterinary public health information. One may search the website by keyword. Another feature is WHOSIS, the WHO Statistical Information System.
- World Bank Group
The Digital Library contains some full text titles, but many with extracts or executive summaries.
- FDsys - Federal Digital System
GPO's Federal Digital System. provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - Basic Search
Provides access to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies.
- Search.USA.gov Forms
The US government's official hub for federal forms.
Easy-to-use guide to the Federal Register
Online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government and maintained by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789-) ISU Only
Access to current and historical information about Congressional hearings, public issues, and legislation. Also includes Committee reports, bill tracking reports, Congressional documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, The Hill and Roll Call.