NCBI
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) - Established in 1988 as part of the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. Significant resource for molecular biology information. Because of the wealth of information available from the NCBI, I suggest you refer to the NCBI Site Map and/or Resource Guide for more information:
- NCBI Site Map
- Resource Guide - Provides brief descriptions about all of the NCBI resources.
About the NCBI - Learn about the NCBIs mission and review "A Science Primer" for introductory information bioinformatics, microarrays, phylogenetics, and SNPs.
PubMed - Freely available version of MEDLINE. Provides access to human medicine journals and many life sciences journals. Be sure to access PubMed through the library website to view the "Get it@ISU" button in the citation record. Coverage: 1950s - present. More information: PubMed Tutorials and Quick Tours - http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html
Entrez Gene - database of genes that provides a "gene-based" view of information. Records include chromosomal map, Gene Ontology classifications, RefSeq records, GeneRIFs (gene references into function with links to PubMed records)
GeneReviews - Provides review articles on genetic diseases and disorders. From the University of Washington.
Genes and Disease - "Genes and Disease is a collection of articles that discuss genes and the diseases that they cause."
Genomic Biology - Links to NCBI genomic biology tools and resources. On the right-hand side of the webpage, be sure to check out the organism-specific resources.
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man - catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Short review articles with links to PubMed and other NCBI database records.
Sample GenBank Record - Refer to a labeled, sample GenBank record for more information about all of the parts contained in a typical GenBank record.
Subject Librarian |
152 Parks Library
515-294-6943
2280 Veterinary Medical Library
515-294-2233
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Science, Bioinformatics, Ecology Evolution & Organismal Biology, Genetics Development & Cell Biology, Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait